Joseph Haydn

Joseph Haydn

by Pauline D. Townsend


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Admired and studied by both Mozart and Beethoven, Franz Joseph Haydn (1732–1809) imbued his life-enhancing compositions with wit, elegance and deep emotion. His output was prolific and included symphonies (most notably those written during his two visits to London, where he received a rapturous welcome), string quartets, chamber music, piano sonatas and choral works. This concise biography, first published in 1884, forms part of music critic Francis Hueffer's Great Musicians series, which was intended to provide succinct accounts of popular composers for the general reader. The author, Pauline D. Townsend, drew much of her material for the book from the painstaking research on Haydn published by the German musicologist Carl Ferdinand Pohl, archivist and librarian of the Vienna Society of the Friends of Music. A list of Haydn's works forms an appendix, based on the information in Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781108064804
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 08/22/2013
Series: Cambridge Library Collection - Music
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 138
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.50(d)

Table of Contents

Preface; 1. Childhood and early life; 2. Study in Vienna; 3. Capellmeister at Eisenstadt; 4. Works at Eisenstadt; 5. Esterhaz; 6. First visit to London; 7. Second visit to London; 8. The Creation, The Seasons, Haydn's last years, conclusion; List of Haydn's compositions.

Customer Reviews