Journey to Mozart

Journey to Mozart

by Daniel HopeDaniel Hope


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26
3 New & Used Starting at $10.95


British violinist Daniel Hope has emerged as a star of the instrument, winning top awards for recordings of both mainstream repertory and more unusual concepts. Here he tries a little of both, and the effort, although not entirely clear in its aims, unearths some interesting music. Hope speaks of the titular "journey to Mozart" as a personal exploration, but the bulk of the program consists not of Mozart, but of the composer's predecessors and contemporaries. So the journey might just as easily be that of the progression of Austrian music to the heights it reached with Mozart. From that perspective, Hope is onto some nice finds: the slow movement by Josef Myslivecek and the "Romance" by Johann Peter Salomon are arresting tunes. The "Haydn Violin Concerto in G major, Hob. 7/4" is competently performed (whether it's really by Haydn or not), and with the marquee attraction, the "Mozart Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K. 216," Hope is clearly finding a groove with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, of which he has become conductor-from-the-violin. Recommended, although not if what you're after is a Mozart hits album. A rather unorthodox entry in Hope's growing catalog, but one with some lovely moments.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2018
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947983767
catalogNumber: 002790602
Rank: 11943


  1. Piano Sonata No. 11 in A major ("Alla Turca") K. 331 (K. 300i): Alla turca
  2. Romance for violin & orchestra in D
  3. Adagio for violin & orchestra in E major, K. 261
  4. Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K. 216
  5. Violin Concerto in D major (Allegro assai/Larghetto/Allegro): 2. Larghetto
  6. Violin Concerto in G major, H. 7a/4
  7. Orfeo ed Euridice (Italian version), opera in 3 acts, Wq. 30: Dance of the Blessed Spirits
  8. Orfeo ed Euridice (Italian version), opera in 3 acts, Wq. 30: Dance of the Furies

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews