J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings [Original 1978 Soundtrack Recording]

J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings [Original 1978 Soundtrack Recording]

by Leonard Rosenman

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Special Edition)

$66.49 $69.99 Save 5% Current price is $66.49, Original price is $69.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings [Original 1978 Soundtrack Recording]

Fantasy Records presents the classic score to the 1978 animated feature J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, from Academy Award-winning composer Leonard Rosenman (East of Eden, Rebel Without a Cause, Barry Lyndon). This highly collectable, vinyl box set will be a must-have for fans of the landmark film and audiophiles alike. Inside the box, there is a wealth of ephemera to discover: the two-disc, 180-gram vinyl LP in a reproduction of the original gatefold jacket; an alternate movie poster, featuring Gandalf, reproduced from the film’s original marketing materials; a map of Middle Earth; a lobby card, reproduced from the original theatrical release; plus a sticker, a reproduced production cel, suitable for framing, as well as a 16-page illustrated booklet, featuring behind-the-scenes photos, liner notes by Tolkien Enterprises’ Laurie Battle, and a new Leonard Rosenman appreciation by Jon Burlingame, the nation’s leading writer on the subject of music for films and television. Also in the booklet is a backstage look at the making of the film by music historian and reissue producer Bill Belmont.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2015
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0888072369962
catalogNumber: 36996
Rank: 166984


Disc 1

  1. Theme From the Lord of the Rings
  2. History of the Ring
  3. The Journey Begins: Encounter With the Ringwraiths
  4. Riders of Rohan
  5. Escape to Rivendell
  6. Mines of Moria
  7. The Battle in the Mines; The Balrog

Disc 2

  1. Mithrandir
  2. Gandalf Remembers
  3. Frodo Disappears
  4. Following the Orcs
  5. Attack Of the Orcs
  6. Helm's Deep
  7. The Dawn Battle: Théoden's Victory
  8. The Voyage to Mordor: Theme from the Lord of the Rings

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews