Jumping through Fires: The Gripping Story of One Man's Escape from Revolution to Redemption

Jumping through Fires: The Gripping Story of One Man's Escape from Revolution to Redemption

by David Nasser

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $14.00 Save 22% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $14. You Save 22%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Religion has left an undeniable mark in our world. Some see it as the answer to every problem, while others see it as the problem itself. Simply put, religion is the single greatest force in history. But in a much more intimate sense, what does religion mean to one life?

In this honest, suspenseful, and moving memoir, author David Nasser tells of a life filled with heartbreak and healing. Forced to escape from a country gripped in a religious revolution, David and his family run for their lives in an attempt to find refuge. Through the lens of a terrified boy we see the destructive power of religion and the pull of peer pressure as he tries to fit into a new culture.

Nasser's raw and transparent account of his transition from hating religion to having a living faith in Christ will impact readers from across the religious spectrum. His unflinchingly honest, yet humorous, assessment of the church from an outsider's point of view will both enlighten readers and spur them to renewed and refined outreach.

For anyone who has seen the lie of religion, whether in Iran or Alabama or anywhere in between, Nasser offers the truth of Jesus.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781441210432
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/01/2009
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 176
File size: 507 KB

About the Author

David Nasser is the founder of David Nasser Outreach. Through radio broadcasts, television programs, and events, he reaches to more than 700,000 people annually with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The author of Glory Revealed and A Call To Die, Nasser lives with his wife, Jennifer, and their two children in Alabama.

Table of Contents

1 The Day That Changed Everything 7

2 Ending a Life 13

3 The Great Pretenders 21

4 At the Airport 30

5 Purgatory 36

6 Fruitcake 42

7 Geek to Chic 56

8 When Grace Went Out to Eat 65

9 Water Walker 81

10 Stormy Waters 88

11 The Right Kind of Fear 97

12 The Power of Parking Lots 108

13 Risk and Romance 126

14 Five Months 141

15 Dad 147

16 As for Me and My House … 157

Epilogue 167

Acknowledgments 171

Customer Reviews