by Hot Club of Detroit Hot Club of Detroit


$12.59 $17.99 Save 30% Current price is $12.59, Original price is $17.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


The Hot Club of Detroit's fourth studio-album, 2012's Junction, builds upon the group's longstanding knack for mixing exploratory post-bop, soulful contemporary jazz, and French chanson into its foundation of swinging Django Reinhardt-style Gypsy jazz. Once again showcasing the talents of guitarists Evan Perri and Paul Brady, as well as accordionist Julien Labro, the album also introduces the new line-up of saxophonist Jon Irabagon, vocalist Cyrille Aimee, bassist Shawn Conley, and guest saxophonist Andrew Bishop. There is a more expansive, somewhat ruminative post-rock vibe on a few of the songs here, suggesting that the internal changes in the band's lineup led them down heretofore unexplored creative avenues. Irabagon brings several compositions to the table, including the lead-off soul-jazz meets Gypsy-swing number "Goodbye, Mr. Anderson." Also interesting is Labro's "Chutzpah," which deftly mixes moments of avant-garde saxophone skronk and free jazz with sections of melodic swing. French-born Aimee, who took third place in the 2010 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Vocals Competition, brings a sound that encompasses both the throaty, intimate style of the French cabaret tradition and the virtuoso chops of Ella Fitzgerald on such numbers as the breezy "La Foule," the torchy ballad "Django Mort," and an inspired reworking of Ornette Coleman's "Lonely Woman." Elsewhere, Irabagon and Ann Arbor native Bishop dive into an amiable sparring session on "Hey!" and the band sticks to its frenetic instrumental sound on the Carl Stalling-esque "Puck Bunny." These are sophisticated recordings that make the most of the band's varied musical abilities, resulting in an album brimming with cross-pollinated musical sounds and textures.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/14/2012
Label: Mack Avenue
UPC: 0673203106727
catalogNumber: 1067
Rank: 217301


  1. Goodbye, Mr. Anderson
  2. Song For Gabriel
  3. La Foule
  4. Hey!
  5. Chutzpah
  6. Messe Gitane
  7. Django Mort
  8. Junction
  9. Midnight In Detroit
  10. Lonely Woman
  11. Goodbye Mr. Shearing
  12. Puck Bunny
  13. Rift

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hot Club of Detroit   Primary Artist
Andrew Bishop   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Jon Irabagon   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Sax (Sopranino)
Julien Labro   Accordion
Evan Perri   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Paul Brady   Rhythm Guitar
Shawn Conley   Bass
Cyrille Aimée   Vocals

Technical Credits

Django Reinhardt   Composer
Trey Anastasio   Composer
Ornette Coleman   Composer
Margo Guryan   Composer,Lyricist
Pryor   Producer
Todd Whitelock   Engineer
Jean Cocteau   Composer,Lyricist
Maria Ehrenreich   Producer
Angel Cabral   Composer
Michael Snyder   Art Direction
Jon Irabagon   Composer
Tom Marshall   Composer
Michel Rivgauche   Composer
Julien Labro   Composer
Evan Perri   Composer
Paul Brady   Composer,Liner Notes
Gretchen Valade   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews