Just Say Yes: Sire's Winter CD Music Sampler

Just Say Yes: Sire's Winter CD Music Sampler


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Just Say Yes: Sire's Winter CD Music Sampler

Samplers are often throwaways, their contents quickly and mindlessly tossed together to promote a label's latest releases. Just Say Yes: Sire's Winter CD Music Sampler may have been produced to woo record buyers into purchasing albums by cult artists, but it offers a wealth of new wave rarities that significantly transcends its original purpose. Released in 1987, Just Say Yes: Sire CD Sampler has become a time machine delivering glimpses of cutting-edge artists before they became mainstream stars and young bands that should've but never fulfilled their commercial potential. Instead of lazily compiling singles, the CD opens with three 12" mixes, extended versions of Depeche Mode's pounding "Never Let Me Down Again," Echo & the Bunnymen's riff-heavy "Lips Like Sugar," and the Mighty Lemon Drops' toe-tapper "Out of Hand." If that wasn't enough, there are tracks like the Smiths' "Work Is a Four-Letter Word" and James' "Ya-Ho" that are probably missing from the collections of those groups' fans. Figures on a Beach's dreamy "No Stars" is a tale of unrequited love steered by jangling guitars and ethereal synths; if Simple Minds had recorded it, the song would've exploded on the charts. Although the uplifting "Young Manhood" isn't truly representative of the Wild Swans' majestic Bringing Home the Ashes LP, it is immediately catchy. Mix in Throwing Muses' otherworldly "A Feeling" and Aztec Camera's revealing confessional "How Men Are" and saying no to Just Say Yes becomes nearly impossible.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Sire / London/Rhino
UPC: 0075992566520
catalogNumber: 25665

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aztec Camera   Track Performer
Depeche Mode   Track Performer
Echo & the Bunnymen   Track Performer
Erasure   Track Performer
Figures on a Beach   Track Performer
Jerry Harrison   Vocals,Track Performer
Mighty Lemon Drops   Track Performer
Ramones   Track Performer
Replacements   Track Performer
Smiths   Track Performer
Throwing Muses   Track Performer
James   Track Performer
Wild Swans   Track Performer
Kristin Hersh   Vocals
Roddy Frame   Guitar,Vocals
Ice-T   Rap,Track Performer
Leslie Langston   Bass
Tanya Donelly   Guitar,Vocals
David Narcizo   Drums
Andy Bell   Vocals
Paul Simpson   Vocals

Technical Credits

Aztec Camera   Contributor
Depeche Mode   Contributor
Echo & the Bunnymen   Contributor
Erasure   Contributor
Figures on a Beach   Contributor
Mighty Lemon Drops   Contributor
Ramones   Contributor
Replacements   Contributor
Smiths   Contributor
Throwing Muses   Contributor
James   Contributor
Wild Swans   Contributor
Cilla Black   Composer
Don Black   Composer
Vince Clarke   Contributor
Martin Gore   Composer
Paul Hardiman   Producer
Lee Herschberg   Engineer
Robert Lloyd   Liner Notes
Ian McCulloch   Composer
Pattinson   Composer
Dee Dee Ramone   Composer
Daniel Rey   Composer
Will Sergeant   Composer
Bill Bentley   Writer,Liner Notes
Howie Klein   Executive Producer
Davin Seay   Writer,Liner Notes
Andy Engel   Artwork,Illustrations
Maria DeGrassi   Art Direction
Yaz Svengali   Contributor
Joe Fearon   Contributor
Jerry Kelly   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews