Kansas City Star

Kansas City Star

by Julia Lee

CD(Box Set)

$134.77 $149.99 Save 10% Current price is $134.77, Original price is $149.99. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, February 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Kansas City Star

Singer and pianist Julia Lee (1902-1958) is the heroine of Bear Family's five-CD set Kansas City Star, a 109-track anthology of classic jazz, small band swing, and jump blues recordings that map this woman's professional activities over a 25-year period with a thoroughness that is unparalleled anywhere else in her entire discography. Lee made her first records for the Merritt and Brunswick labels with her big brother George E. Lee & His Novelty Singing Orchestra in 1927 and 1929. Although consistently active as a performer in the famously wide-open Kansas City music scene, she did not record again until signing on with Capitol in 1944. By this time Lee was a seasoned performer who specialized in jump blues and swingy rhythm numbers, often cheerfully peppered with hedonistic lyrics. Winners in this category include "Snatch and Grab It," "I've Got a Crush on the Fuller Brush Man," "The Spinach Song (I Didn't Like It the First Time)," "Sit Down and Drink It Over," "All This Beef and Big Ripe Tomatoes," and the attractively titled "Oh Chuck It (In a Bucket)." Her "Won't You Come Over to My House?," forged in 1929 and revamped at her first Capitol recording date in 1944, reappeared as Nellie Lutcher's hit record of 1947, "Hurry On Down." Noteworthy instrumentalists who are audible on Kansas City Star include Jay McShann, Walter Page, Baby Lovett, and xylophonist Red Norvo.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/02/1995
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127157706
catalogNumber: 15770
Rank: 146100


Disc 1

  1. Down Home Syncopated Blues
  2. Meritt Stomp
  3. If I Could Be With You (One Hour Tonight)
  4. Paseo Street
  5. Ruff Scufflin'
  6. St. James Infirmary
  7. He's Tall, Dark and Handsome
  8. Won't You Come over to My House?
  9. Come on over to My House
  10. Trouble in Mind
  11. If It's Good
  12. Show Me Missouri Blues
  13. Lotus Blossom
  14. Dream Lucky Blues
  15. Wee Baby Blues
  16. If It's Good
  17. I've Got a Crush on the Fuller Brush Man
  18. Two Loves I Have
  19. Some of These Days
  20. St. Louis Blues
  21. Shake That Thing
  22. Shake It and Break It

Disc 2

  1. Julia's Blues
  2. Lies
  3. Gotta Gimme What'cha Got
  4. When a Woman Loves a Man
  5. Oh Marie
  6. I'll Get Along Somehow
  7. A Porter's Love Song to a Chambermaid
  8. Have You Ever Been Lonely?
  9. Since I've Been with You
  10. Out in the Cold Again
  11. Young Girl's Blues
  12. On My Way Out
  13. There Goes My Heart
  14. Snatch and Grab It
  15. If You Hadn't Gone Away
  16. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  17. The Curse of an Aching Heart
  18. Bleeding Hearted Blues
  19. Living Backstreet for You
  20. Wise Guys (You're a Wise Guy)

Disc 3

  1. Mama Don't Allow It
  2. Doubtful Blues
  3. Ain'T It a Crime
  4. Knock Me a Kiss
  5. Cold-Hearted Daddy
  6. My Sin
  7. My Sin
  8. My Sin
  9. My Sin
  10. When You're Smiling
  11. I Was Wrong
  12. Pagan Love Song
  13. All I Ever Do Is Worry
  14. Take It or Leave It
  15. That's What I Like
  16. King Size Papa
  17. Blues for Someone
  18. I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
  19. Breeze (Blow My Baby Back to Me)
  20. The Spinach Song (I Didn't Like It the First Time)
  21. Tell Me, Daddy
  22. Crazy World
  23. Christmas Spirit
  24. Until the Real Thing Comes Along

Disc 4

  1. Charmaine
  2. Lotus Blossom
  3. Lotus Blossom
  4. Sit Down and Drink It Over
  5. Away from You
  6. The Glory of Love
  7. Tonight's the Night
  8. My Man Stands Out
  9. Do You Want It?
  10. It Comes in Like a Lion
  11. Don't Come Too Soon
  12. Ugly Papa
  13. Don't Save It Too Long (The Money Song)
  14. After Hours Waltz
  15. You Ain't Got It No More
  16. When Your Lover Has Gone
  17. Oh Chuck It (In a Bucket)
  18. Decent Woman Blues
  19. Dragging My Heart Around

Disc 5

  1. It Won't Be Long
  2. You're Gonna Miss It
  3. Can't Get Enough of That Stuff
  4. When a Man Has Two Women
  5. Scream in the Night
  6. I Know It's Wrong (The Diet Song)
  7. Music, Maestro, Please!
  8. Pipe Dreams
  9. When Jennie Does That Lowdown Dance
  10. If I Didn't Care
  11. Lazy River
  12. All This Beef and Big Ripe Tomatoes
  13. Can't Get It off My Mind
  14. I Got News for You
  15. Goin' to Chicago Blues
  16. Last Call for Alcohol
  17. Kansas City Boogie
  18. Love in Bloom
  19. Keep Em' Barefoot and Busy
  20. Baby I'm Though
  21. Scat You Cats
  22. I Can't See How
  23. King Size Papa
  24. Bop and Rock Lullaby

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Julia Lee   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals

Technical Credits

Louis Prima   Composer
Titus Turner   Composer
Count Basie   Composer
Julia Lee   Composer
Jimmy Rushing   Composer
Nacio Herb Brown   Composer
James Cox   Composer
Arthur Freed   Composer
Joe Goodwin   Composer
Joe Hanley   Composer
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
J. Neiburg   Composer
Charles Perry   Composer
George "Fathead" Thomas   Composer
Paul Vance   Composer
Johnny Gomez   Composer
Francis Craig   Composer
Morton Downey   Composer
Jimmy Rule   Composer
Red Burns   Composer
Eduardo DeCapua   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Jean Kenbrovin   Composer
Joe Primrose   Composer
John Kellette   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews