Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Katy Lied

Katy Lied

Katy Lied

Katy Lied


$7.99 $15.99 Save 50% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $15.99. You Save 50%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 4


One of the most pleasurable pop albums ever made, KATY LIED is also one of the weirdest. Steely Dan principals Walter Becker and Donald Fagen combined off-kilter but catchy song constructions with jazz motifs, killer guitar solos, and an almost avant-garde approach to lyric writing to create a series of unaccountably beautiful and lasting albums in the 1970s. Most Danophiles consider this 1975 album, the pair's fourth, to be their unlikely masterpiece. It contains none of Steely Dan's well-known hits, but in their place is something like a concept album. It's hard to tell from the actual lyrics: Lines like "Pull out your gold teeth/ And see how they roll" aren't designed to enlighten. But a few hints here and there -- along with the very adult mournfulness permeating the record -- tell the story. You can hear it in the rueful "Bad Sneakers," the wistfully perverse "Everyone's Gone to the Movies," and, closing things off, one of the most emotionally exhilarating tracks of the duo's now 25-year career, "Any World (That I'm Welcome To)."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/1999
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811191627
catalogNumber: 11916
Rank: 1715


  1. Black Friday
  2. Bad Sneakers
  3. Rose Darling
  4. Daddy Don't Live In That New York City No More
  5. Doctor Wu
  6. Everyone's Gone to the Movies
  7. Your Gold Teeth, Pt. 2
  8. Chain Lightning
  9. Any World (That I'm Welcome To)
  10. Throw Back the Little Ones

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steely Dan   Primary Artist
Rick Derringer   Guitar
Donald Fagen   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Michael McDonald   Vocals,Background Vocals
Larry Carlton   Guitar
Victor Feldman   Percussion,Keyboards,Vibes
Bill Perkins   Horn
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Elliott Randall   Guitar
Walter Becker   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Hal Blaine   Drums
Wilton Felder   Bass
Jimmie Haskell   Horn
Myrna Matthews   Vocals,Background Vocals
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Michael Omartian   Piano,Keyboards
David Paich   Piano,Keyboards
Jeff Porcaro   Drums,Dorophone
Dean Parks   Guitar
Carolyn Willis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Phil Woods   Alto,Horn,Vocals,Soloist
Denny Dias   Guitar
Sherlie Matthews   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Donald Fagen   Liner Notes
Jimmie Haskell   Arranger
Gary Katz   Producer,Audio Production
Roger Nichols   Engineer
Dorothy White   Cover Photo
Dinky Dawson   Sound Consultant
Kenta Hagiwara   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews