Keep Her Close
Keep Her Close

Keep Her Close

by M.J. Ford

$11.69 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.69, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Overview

Someone is playing a deadly game…

When a young woman goes missing from Jesus College, Oxford, DS Josie Masters is plunged into a world of panic as fear grips the city. Along with Thames Valley Police’s newest recruit, the handsome DS Pryce, Josie must act fast – and when two more students disappear from Oriel and Somerville colleges, she realises the killer is sending her a deadly message in a cruel game of cat and mouse. This time, the case is personal – but who is the perpetrator?

In a desperate race against the clock, Josie hunts for the kidnapper, and soon discovers he could be a lot closer to home than she’d ever thought…

M.J. Ford is back with a gripping new thriller, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and T.M. Logan.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008293772
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
Publication date: 04/23/2019
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 574,859
Product dimensions: 5.08(w) x 7.80(h) x (d)

About the Author

M. J. Ford is a writer and an editor at Working Partners, where he works on projects across the age groups. He loves thrillers, historical and fantasy titles. His first novel, Hold My Hand, received rave reviews in 2018, and Keep Her Close is his second thriller.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Keep Her Close 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It will keep you guessing all the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I+love+suspense%2Fthriller+novels%2C+and+this+one+is+not+disappointing+.++From+the+first+page++to+the+last%2C+it+will+definitely++have+you+on+the+edge+of+your+sest.+
Nanna51 More than 1 year ago
This book was an amazing suspense thriller about a detective inspector caught in the middle of a morass of kidnappings of young teen girls. Josie Masters is a strong female who also shows her vulnerable side throughout the book. Her characterization made the book extremely readable and enjoyable. Josie had to figure out the puzzle about why the girls were being kidnapped before she could find out who and where they could be. I thoroughly enjoyed this book even though I had not read the first one in the series. That really didn’t matter since this could actually be a stand alone. This could also be described as a police procedural but I like my description of suspense thriller better. Those who enjoy either of those kinds of books will really like this one. It was a fast-paced read that kept me engrossed in the story. I wanted the girls to be found as much as Josie did. I was surprised at the identity of the villain, although if you follow the clues, you may be able to figure it out, although the clues are very subtle. I enjoy a good mystery in which I cannot figure it out and have to read to the end to find out “whodunit.” I look forward to more books from this author as this is one of my favorite books that I have read this year! Disclaimer Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, “Guides Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”
Rosemary-Standeven More than 1 year ago
I really struggled to get into this book. Though the pace did pick up after a slow start, I was never fully involved in the story. One problem I had was with the lead detective – Jo Masters. She had major trust issues, was paranoid, and – as the story continued – was rather a liability to the investigation. I know there were good (historical) reasons for her character flaws – just because you are paranoid does not mean that someone is not out to get you – but I found her very unsympathetic. I thought the story-line was rather contrived, and at times clichéd (unhappy police detective with excessive flaws, cop in danger …). I prefer my police procedurals to be mainly focussed on the criminal(s) and crime(s) rather than on the police working the investigation. Some background about the police does give the tale more human interest, but there was just a bit too much of Jo and her personal life. I felt the end of the epilogue was unnecessary. I am clearly in the minority when it come to not liking this book – most reviews that I have read are very complimentary. The writing is good, and it is a very readable crime novel – but not for me. I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
Dedee1 More than 1 year ago
This was a first time reading this author so I had no idea this was the second book in a series until I was full into reading. It can be read as a stand alone, but to know the characters a little better and what happened to her former partner you may want to read the first book. The jacket cover and other reviews give more than adequate detail of plot so I will not give a plot and character review except to say that she does go dangerously rogue on her policing to prove a point to the guys. The book is fast paced and holds your interest. An enjoyable read. This book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley as an ARC for and honest review. The opinions expressed are my own. Thank you for allowing me to read this book.
PaulAllard More than 1 year ago
Reasonably good police procedural set in Oxford Although I haven’t read the first Jo Masters novel, this police procedural recaps the events of it to set the scene so I don’t feel that I missed out on anything important. The main story here deals with kidnapping and murder for Detective Jo Masters and her colleagues to investigate. The story develops quickly and, although reasonably short, there’s a lot involved. Characters are well-developed and interesting but personally I didn’t enjoy the plot twist towards the end but that’s just me. It’s a nicely written book.