Keeping Secrets: A Novel

Keeping Secrets: A Novel

by Bina Bernard

Hardcover

$25.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on January 19, 2021

Overview

For fans of All the Light You Cannot See and The German Girl, Keeping Secrets is a remarkable debut, by a veteran American magazine journalist exploring her own family's flight from Poland.

Hannah Stone, now a successful New York City journalist, was smuggled out of Poland as a child with her parents after surviving the Holocaust. They remade themselves in America, harboring the deep scars of stories never told. Now in her thirties, Hannah learns a family secret that sends her back to where she came from, on the investigative journey of her life.
 
Replayed in cinematic flashbacks, of the family’s immigrant experience and war years on the run, alternating with the contemporary family drama in the U.S. and Communist Poland, Keeping Secrets hinges on the mystery of a sister who was left behind.
 
In this sweeping, suspenseful debut, Keeping Secrets reveals the agonizing choices World War II thrust upon so many, examining the enormous price of guilt and the very heart of identity.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781951627300
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 01/19/2021
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 331,690
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Bina Bernard reported on political figures and writers for People Magazine. Keeping  Secrets is her first novel. Born in Poland, her immigrant experience remains central to her view of the world. She lives in New York, where her parents settled after World War II, with her husband, graphic designer, Walter Bernard.
 

Customer Reviews