Ken Burns Jazz

Ken Burns Jazz

by Coleman Hawkins


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Ken Burns Jazz

He was an itinerant musician no more easily contained stylistically than he was identified with one era. Yet Coleman Hawkins commanded more respect in the jazz world than any other instrumentalist d he commanded it for enearly fifty years. He appeared first with blues singer Mamie Smith and then with Fletcher Henderson's orchestra in the early Twenties, and he maintained his command through all jazz's developments, from the Roaring Twenties to swing and bebop, even to teh experiments he participated in with avant gardists who were his musical grandchildren. But he invented the tenor saxophone in jazz and his proud bearing, limitless ideas, and cavernous sound were never duplicated, on any instrument.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/07/2000
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731454908528
catalogNumber: 549085

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Coleman Hawkins   Primary Artist,Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Henry "Red" Allen   Trumpet
Buster Bailey   Clarinet
Paul Bley   Piano
Eddie Condon   Banjo
Roy Eldridge   Trumpet
Herb Ellis   Guitar
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet
Stéphane Grappelli   Piano
Henry Grimes   Bass
Eddie Heywood   Piano
Johnny Hodges   Alto Saxophone
Milt Jackson   Vibes
Budd Johnson   Baritone Saxophone
Hank Jones   Piano
Jo Jones   Drums
John Kirby   Bass
Gene Krupa   Drums
Booker Little   Trumpet
Shelly Manne   Drums
Ray Nance   Cornet
Fats Navarro   Trumpet
Leo Parker   Alto Saxophone
Oscar Peterson   Piano
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Bill Pierce   Tenor Saxophone
Julian Priester   Trombone
Django Reinhardt   Guitar
Max Roach   Percussion,Drums
Sonny Rollins   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Rex Stewart   Cornet
Wilbur Ware   Bass
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Teddy Wilson   Piano
Aaron Bell   Bass
Walter Benton   Tenor Saxophone
Lawrence Brown   Trombone
Cozy Cole   Drums
Dick Katz   Piano
Benny Morton   Trombone
Gene Rodgers   Piano
Don Redman   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Howard McGhee   Trumpet
Russell Procope   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Charles Thompson   Piano
Jimmy Garrison   Bass
Red McKenzie   Vocals
Alix Combelle   Tenor Saxophone
Abbey Lincoln   Vocals
Ray Abrams   Tenor Saxophone
Bernard Addison   Guitar
Tommy Benford   Drums
Benny Carter   Alto Saxophone
Denzil Best   Drums
Art Blakey   Drums
Jack Bland   Guitar
Ray Brown   Bass
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Harry Carney   Baritone Saxophone
John Collins   Guitar
Vic Dickenson   Trombone
Charlie Dixon   Banjo
Duke Ellington   Piano
Andre Ekyan   Alto Saxophone
Jackie Fields   Alto Saxophone
Fletcher Henderson   Piano
Joe Guy   Trumpet
Earl Hardy   Trombone
Clyde Hart   Piano
Arthur Herbert   Drums
Hilton Jefferson   Alto Saxophone
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Walter Johnson   Drums
Claude Jones   Trombone
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Glenn Miller   Trombone
Thelonious Monk   Piano
Eustis Moore   Alto Saxophone
Morgan   Bass
Allan Reuss   Guitar
Curly Russell   Bass
Jimmy Schenck   Bass
Joe "Fox" Smith   Trumpet
Russell Smith   Trumpet
Alvin Stoller   Drums
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Phil Woods   Alto Saxophone
Sam Woodyard   Drums
Eugene d'Hellemmes   Bass
Bob Escudero   Tuba
Sandy Williams   Trombone
Billy Taylor   Bass
Tommy Lindsay   Trumpet
Bobby Stark   Trumpet
Vic Coulson   Trumpet
Ed Van Dever   Trumpet
William Oscar Smith   Bass
Joseph Marshall   Drums
Leonard Lowry   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Arranger,Composer
James P. Johnson   Composer
Horace Henderson   Arranger
Don Redman   Arranger
Benny Carter   Arranger
Ken Burns   Executive Producer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Didier C. Deutsch   Discographical Information
Fletcher Henderson   Arranger,Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Peter Keepnews   Liner Notes
Jerry Livingston   Composer
J. Neiburg   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
Marty Symes   Composer
Carl Woideck   Liner Notes
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Pat Sweeting   Business Consultant
Ron Goldstein   Executive Producer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Ben Young   Discographical Information
Allan Stuart   Composer
Paul Dupont   Composer
Carlos Kase   Discographical Information
John Christiana   Packaging Manager
Lauren Atlas   Packaging Manager
Clare Walker   Packaging Manager
Gus Haenschen   Composer
Jeff Jones   Executive Producer
Lester O'Keefe   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews