Pub. Date:
SAGE Publications
Key Thinkers on Space and Place / Edition 1

Key Thinkers on Space and Place / Edition 1


Current price is , Original price is $69.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780761949633
Publisher: SAGE Publications
Publication date: 05/25/2004
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 6.69(w) x 9.53(h) x (d)

About the Author

Phil Hubbard is Professor in Urban Studies in the University of Kent’s School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research.

Rob Kitchin is a professor and ERC Advanced Investigator in the National Institute of Regional and Spatial Analysis at the National University of Ireland Maynooth, for which he was director between 2002 and 2013. He has published widely across the social sciences, including 23 books and 140 articles and book chapters. He is editor of the international journals, Progress in Human Geography and Dialogues in Human Geography, and for eleven years was the editor of Social and Cultural Geography. He was the editor-in-chief of the 12 volume, International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, and edits two book series, Irish Society and Key Concepts in Geography. He is currently a PI on the Programmable City project, the Digital Repository of Ireland, and the All-Island Research Observatory.

He has delivered over 100 invited talks at conferences and universities and his research has been cited over 600 times in local, national and international media. His book ‘Code/Space’ (with Martin Dodge) won the Association of American Geographers ‘Meridian Book Award’ for the outstanding book in the discipline in 2011 and a ‘CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title 2011’ award from the American Library Association. He was the 2013 recipient of the Royal Irish Academy's Gold Medal for the Social Sciences.

Professor Valentine has held prestigious international visiting fellowships at the Universities of Sydney, Australia and Otago, New Zealand and has visited and given keynote addresses at a range of prestigious international conferences. She was co-founder and co-editor of the international journal Social and Cultural Geography, and co-edited Gender, Place and Culture. She has undertaken international research in Europe, Africa and the USA and is committed to developing the University of Sheffield's international strategy within the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Table of Contents

Benedict Anderson - Euan Hauge
Trevor Barnes - Susanne Reimer
Jean Baudrillard - David Clarke and Marcus Doel
Zygmunt Bauman - David Clarke and Marcus Doel
Ulrich Beck - Lewis Hollway
Brian Berry - Gordon Clarke
Homi K Bhabha - Constantina Papoulias
Pierre Bourdieu - Gary Bridge
Judith Butler - Minelle Mahtani
Manuel Castells - Phil Hubbard
Stuart E Corbridge - Simon Batterbury
Denis Cosgrove - Keith Lilley
Mike Davis - Don Mc Neill
Michael Dear - Don Mc Neill and Mark Tewdwr-Jones
Giles Deleuze - Marcus Doel and David Clarke
Arturo Escobar - Simon Batterbury and Jude Fernando
Michel Foucault - Chris Philo
Anthony Giddens - Barney Warf
Reginard Golledge - Rob Kitchin
Derek Gregory - Barney Warf
Torsten H[um]agerstrand - Robin Flowerdew
Peter Haggett - Robin Flowerdew
Stuart Hall - Don Mitchell
Donna Haraway - Lewis Holloway
J Brian Harley - Keith Lilley
David Harvey - Noel Castree
bell hooks - Katherine Mc Kittrick
Peter Jackson - Don Mitchell
Bruno Latour - Eric Laurier
Henri Lefebvre - Rob Shields
David Ley - Paul Rodaway
Doreen Massey - Felicity Callard
Gillian Rose - Minelle Mahtani
Edward W Said - Karen Morin
Andrew Sayer - Andy Pratt
Amartya Sen - Simon Batterbury and Jude Fernando
David Sibley - Minelle Mahtani
Neil Smith - Noel Castree
Edward Soja - Alan Latham
Gayatari Chakravorty Spivak - Robina Mohammad and James Sidaway
Michael Storper - Susanne Reimer
Peter Taylor - Jim Glassman
Nigel Thrift - Barney Warf
Waldo R Tobler - Robin Flowerdew
Yi-Fu Tuan - Paul Rodaway
Paul Virilio - David Clarke and Marcus Doel
Immanuel Wallerstein - Jim Glassman
Michael J Watts - Thomas Perreault
Raymond Williams - Don Mitchell and Carrie Breitbach
Iris Marion Young - Felicity Callard

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews