by Electric Six


$15.34 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.34, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23


After 13 years, five prior albums, and a countless number of shows, Electric Six is still going strong. Tyler Spencer (aka Dick Valentine) still has his growl, his falsetto, and his sense of humor intact, as he spouts absurd lines from his tour bus diaries, noting: "There's no such thing as an electric tuba/the Detroit River's not a good place to scuba," "Except for GBV and Devo/Nothing seems to redeem Ohio," and "Still got something to put in ya/But we'll have to go to West Virginia." Since Fire had a goal of using the word "Fire" as many times as possible (933 times), there's a chance that Valentine may be going for a loose concept here. Then again, knowing that Valentine's admitted that 90-percent of his lyrics aren't really about anything, it's hard to tell. Themes aside, as always, the merit of an Electric Six album is based on how comical and energetic it is, and Kill shows that Valentine and the crew (Johnny Na$hinal, the Colonel, Tait Nucleus?, Percussion World, and Smorgasbord) are as eager as ever. Musically, they're at their most aggressive. The levels are maxed out, the amps are cranked, and the distortion dominates, as they barrel through genres; from the punky and short "You're Bored," to the loungey, organ ballad "My Idea of Fun," to the Auto-Tuned Euro dance groove "Newark Airport" -- the third song in their ongoing saga of chill-electro songs for airports (along with 2007's "Lucifer Airlines" and 2008's "Transatlantic Flight.") As on the last album, Flashy, cowbell metal dominates their sound, with songs like "Escape from Ohio" and "Waste of Time and Money" sharing more with '80s leather than '70s polyester. This darker, heavier tone makes the majority of Kill less of a party than Fire or I Shall Exterminate Everything Around Me That Restricts Me from Being the Master, but splendidly, Dance Commander rears his head to make demands like "Shake that tambourine/Shake that shaking machine!" in "Egyptian Cowboy" and encourages mass consumption in the splendid "Body Shot," which devolves from a grunge-disco jam into a wonderful, dubbed-out frenzy.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/20/2009
Label: Metropolis Records
UPC: 0782388061421
catalogNumber: 80614
Rank: 89811

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Electric Six   Primary Artist
Matt Aljian   Timpani
Kristin Von Bernthal   Background Vocals
Dick Valentine   Mouth Percussion,Group Member
Johnny Na$hinal   Guitar,Group Member
Tait Nucleus?   Synthesizer,Group Member
Colonel   Guitar,Group Member
Smorgasbord   Bass,Group Member
Korin Louise Visocchi   Background Vocals
Percussion World   Drums

Technical Credits

Zach Shipps   Producer
Chris Dean   Artwork
Tyler Spencer   Composer,Lyricist
Raymond William Roldan   Publicity
James Herring   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kill 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Tsujigiri More than 1 year ago
Electric Six is one of the few bands that seems to get better with each album. I haven't heard Flashy, so I can't comment there, but other than that, each album seems better than the last. This one has a good mix of songs that sound good right off the bat as well as songs with staying power, fast songs as well as slow songs. E6 sounds as fun as ever, with the usual semi-satirical lyrics (such as in "Steal Your Bones": "Evolution rolls the dice, we can be so much more precise"). They have a rare ability to produce lyrics that are funny, but in a way that you can almost believe they aren't joking. They remind me a little of Mindless Self Indulgence, but much more subtle and with a more rock-ish sound. My favorites for this album are "One Sick Puppy," "Escape from Ohio," "I Belong In A Factory," and "Simulated Love." If you like this album, I'd also highly recommend their I Shall Exterminate Everything Around Me That Restricts Me From Being The Master one.