Kill the Father: A Novel

Kill the Father: A Novel

by Sandrone Dazieri

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.62 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.62, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Overview

In this “absolutely electrifying” (Jeffrey Deaver) thriller and huge international hit, two people—each shattered by their past—team up to solve a series of killings and abductions that may hint at something far more sinister at play.

When a woman is beheaded in a park outside Rome and her six-year-old son goes missing, the police see an easy solution: they arrest the woman’s husband and await his confession. But the chief of Rome’s major crimes unit has doubts.

Secretly, he lures to the case two of Italy’s top analytical minds: Deputy Captain Colomba Caselli, a fierce, warrior-like detective still reeling from having survived a bloody catastrophe, and Dante Torre, a man who spent his childhood trapped inside a concrete silo. Fed by the gloved hand of a masked kidnapper who called himself “the Father,” Dante emerged from his ordeal with crippling claustrophobia but, also, with an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and hyperobservant capacities.

All evidence suggests that the Father is back and active after being dormant for decades. But when Colomba and Dante begin following the ever-more-bizarre trail of clues, they grasp that what’s really going on is darker than they ever imagined.

An “intense, gripping, and entirely unforgettable” (Christopher Reich) thriller with many twists and turns, it’s perfect for fans of Thomas Harris and Jo Nesbo.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501196911
Publisher: Pocket Books
Publication date: 06/26/2018
Series: Caselli and Torre Series , #1
Pages: 576
Sales rank: 1,163,379
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 7.50(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Sandrone Dazieri is the bestselling author of numerous novels and screenplays. Kill the Father, the first novel in his series featuring Colomba Caselli and Dante Torre, was an international bestseller and received spectacular praise for its highly unconventional detective duo. Kill the Angel is the much-anticipated follow up.Visit him at www.sandronedazieri.it or follow him on Twitter @SandroneDazieri.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kill the Father: A Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I read this book synopsis I wanted to give it a try and what a ride it is. Absolutely mesmerizing and could not put it down, it deserves all the hype. Add to this the Italian local and I felt like settling down with a cup of espresso and keep reading. Highly recommended for all thriller fans.
Thebooktrail-com More than 1 year ago
Horrifyingly good thriller set in Rome & Cremona WOW What a ride of a book! From the first gory chapter, there’s no let up and the action, the chase for the truth comes thick and fast. The entire premise of the story coupled with one of the best duos in crime fiction – with their own set each of deliciously dark problems – I’ve read about in some time. A man searches for the monster who imprisoned him for many many years. His colleague is a women who is off the police force recovering from what is only referred at first as “The disaster” and the two don’t like each other at first. They work together and bounce off each other in a way that is both fascinating to watch and understandable given their circumstances. The Father looms large throughout the story and he’s always in the shadows… Gripping is not the word. The characterisation is spot on, the action never ending and the Rome and Cremona setting rocky, dangerous and enthralling. There’s unease and foreboding throughout made even more tense by Dante’s reactions to unfolding events. Seeing the case through the eyes of a former victim like him, is deliciously evil and grippingly good all at once. There’s some very dark issues in this book and a scientific theory that really makes you think = author’s research can be found at the back of the book, and if you’ve seen a certain movie, you will especially want to see more.. I have time to recover from this heck of a journey to Italy as the author’s next book is out next year – Kill The Angel, if the first four chapters are anything to go by mean that the rollercoaster is back and even more jaw dropping and stomach churning than ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have found a new author. This book is long, over 500 pages, but enjoyed very bit!
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
This was one of the better thriller/mystery novels I have read so far this year. Wow. It was well written, filled with lots of twists and turns and the way everything is tied together is fantastic and makes the writing flow to keep you engaged and the pages turning. The characters speak for themselves. They’re heavily flawed and are dealing with horrible pasts. I like both of them and Dante and Colomba do make a great team. Dante certainly has his quirks and his mannerisms due to his being a previous kidnapping victim. It feels like they certainly complement each other and they have an amazing chemistry when working together. They’re both very strong characters, no doubt. If any of you have read The Monster’s Daughter by Michelle Pretorius I found some similarities between Colomba and Alet in the fact they both don’t take crap and go beyond their limits to solve things and they’re certainly not afraid to take a swing or kick to make their point across (Colomba has a good share of that throughout the book) The plot was really good and what I really enjoyed reading the most was the way everything was seamless and how it was put together. Everything that happened to Colomba and Dante was related and well explained. The explanation as to the origins of Colomba’s situation was very well done! I enjoyed that aspect of the plot. The only thing is, the book is rather long and the plot a bit on the slow side but it’s nevertheless a great read and going through the twists and turns was completely worth it. And yes, there’s a cliffhanger ending. I can’t wait to read the second one.
Wiliam_Maltese More than 1 year ago
BETTER THAN MOST! One good way to tell that a book has been translated from some European language seems to be that at least one of the characters is a chain-smoker — as turns out to be the case with Dante Torre in KILL THE FATHER. And, at least as has happened lately, for me, a translated-to-English book can be counted upon to provide a more intricate plot — and better read — than many of its foreign author’s English-speaking/-writing peers — as turns out to be the case with KILL THE FATHER. I enjoyed this book mainly because its plot takes a different and unexpected twist, based upon enough real-world facts to make all its fiction seem plausible. If there were a few anticipated outcomes, those weren’t so many that I didn’t encounter enough surprises to keep me reading. If I have any complaint about this mystery, it’s that every book I read these days seems to have a main protagonist who has been made dysfunctional because of some recent or past traumatic experience. In KILL THE FATHER, there isn’t just one such main character but two. Still, the book provided me a unique reading experience that didn’t see me lay it aside for very long, at a time, while I was reading it. It satisfactorily came across as something I look forward in seeing, someday, as a PBS “Masterpiece Mystery” on TV. And, it seems I lucked out, this time, in coming across the first book of a series (Caselli and Torre), instead of realizing, halfway through, that it’s the fourth book of seven.
Myndia More than 1 year ago
This book sets the bar by which all other thrillers I read this year will be measured. It was that good. Once again, a new (to me) author, though to be fair…my understanding is this is his first book translated to English (he’s Italian). And I’m fervently hoping that the next in series (I can see it on Goodreads, in the original Italian!) is translated to English and quickly. Now I know I say rather regularly that “I’ll definitely read the next in series at some point” (and I always mean it), but in this case, the minute I find out it’s available in English, I’ll be reading it. Post haste. So, what do I love about it? The characters, especially the dynamic duo, are intriguing. Broken but functional. And such a brilliant pairing. Though their damage is very different in nature, they have an innate empathy for each other combined with a dogged determination to see each other succeed. And though their trauma has changed the way they do things, they still try. And in many ways, their past positively influences their approach, informing their thought process, opening them up to different ways of looking at each situation and person. Yes. I love Dante and Colomba. I hope to see more of them soon. As for the story, at first it felt like watching The Silence of the Lambs for the first time. A movie that I love, by the by. There was this undercurrent of tension from the very beginning, and it slowly built up to the end. At some point along the way, I was determined I knew who the Father was, and I won’t lie…I was right. The seed that was planted was a bit too obvious for me, but that did not detract from the overall story. They why’s and the how’s remained to be discovered, and it was nothing I could possibly have imagined. What can I say? I loved it. LOVED. IT. If I’d known it was going to be this good, I would have read it so much sooner. And I cannot wait for the next in series to be translated to English. In fact, I formally request that all Sandrone Dazieri’s books be translated to English. Yes. Please. And thank you. Note: I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley. I pride myself on writing fair and honest reviews.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
Deputy Captain Colomba Caselli and Dante Torre .... two protagonists that make up this part psychological puzzle, part conspiracy theory, and part police procedural .... characters you will never forget. Caselli --- recuperating from a bombing, suffering from PTSD, trying to decide whether she wants to continue as a detective. Torre - a man held captive from the age of 6 to 17 in a one room chamber with no light, no windows, only the voice of his captor ..Father. He escaped only to live his life with claustrophobia that overwhelms him to the point he cannot function. When a woman is beheaded in a park and her 6-year-old son goes missing, these two people are brought together to investigate. Evidence suggests that Father is back after decades of dormancy. Once they start following the thin clues, they find that things are much, much darker than anything they could imagine. This is one of the best mysteries I have read this year. There's not a dull moment, it's like a roller coaster ride that never ends. The characters are so flawed and injured, yet they compliment and complete each other. There are so many layers to this well-written, well-plotted story. The story line goes this way and then it goes that way and then it goes somewhere else altogether. The twists and turns are constant and keeps your attention and your eyes greedily reading on and on and on. Many thanks to the author / Scribner / NetGalley who provided a digital copy in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.