Pub. Date:
Kinda Kinks [Deluxe Edition]

Kinda Kinks [Deluxe Edition]

by The KinksThe Kinks


$19.14 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.14, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


Universal's 2011 Deluxe Edition of the Kinks' second album, Kinda Kinks, finds the 12-track album supported by a 23-track collection of non-LP cuts, including both sides of the "Everybody's Gonna Be Happy," "Set Me Free," "See My Friends," and "Never Met a Girl Like You Before" singles; the Kwyet Kinks EP, which includes "A Well Respected Man"; no less than six demos, many of which are unreleased Ray Davies originals ("I Go to Sleep" saw the light of day on a previous CD reissue); alternate takes of "See My Friends" and "Come on Now"; and BBC sessions including the songs "This Strange Effect" and "Hide and Seek," which never popped up on a Kinks LP. Like the group's debut, Kinda Kinks is slightly uneven -- Davies is showing strides as a songwriter and the band is tightening, but there are some slow patches -- but adding all the bonus material to the album has the effect of strengthening the overall experience, as the singles "Everybody's Gonna Be Happy," "Who'll Be the Next in Line," "See My Friends," and "A Well Respected Man" eclipse much of the LP, the live sessions are great, the demos are worthwhile for the dedicated, and everything is remastered to sound better than it ever has.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/19/2011
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602527563268
catalogNumber: 1077324
Rank: 25852


Disc 1

  1. Look for Me Baby
  2. Got My Feet on the Ground
  3. Nothin' in the World Can Stop Me Worryin' 'Bout That Girl
  4. Naggin' Woman
  5. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  6. Tired of Waiting for You
  7. Dancing in the Street
  8. Don't Ever Change
  9. Come on Now
  10. So Long
  11. You Shouldn't Be Sad
  12. Something Better Beginning

Disc 2

  1. Everybody's Gonna Be Happy
  2. Who'll Be the Next in Line
  3. Set Me Free
  4. I Need You
  5. See My Friends
  6. Never Met a Girl Like You Before
  7. A Well Respected Man
  8. Such a Shame
  9. Wait Till the Summer Comes Along
  10. Don't You Fret
  11. I Go to Sleep
  12. When I See That Girl of Mine
  13. Tell Me Now So I'll Know
  14. A Little Bit of Sunlight
  15. There's a New World Just Opening for Me [V
  16. This I Know
  17. See My Friends
  18. Come on Now
  19. You Shouldn't Be Sad
  20. Tired of Waiting for You
  21. Everybody's Gonna Be Happy
  22. This Strange Effect
  23. Hide and Seek

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kinks   Primary Artist
Dave Davies   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Ray Davies   Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Group Member
Mick Avory   Drums,Group Member
Bobby Graham   Drums
Mitch Mitchell   Drums
Peter Quaife   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Rasa Davies   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Marvin Gaye   Composer
Dave Davies   Composer
Ray Davies   Composer
Roger Armstrong   Memorabilia,Photo Courtesy
Bob Auger   Engineer
Doug Hinman   Memorabilia,Photo Courtesy
Ivy Jo Hunter   Composer
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Composer
Shel Talmy   Producer
Jerry West   Composer
Ethel Byrd   Composer
Paul Winley   Composer
Jimmy Anderson   Composer
Bob Stanley   Sleeve Notes
Alan MacKenzie   Engineer
Dave Emlen   Memorabilia,Photo Courtesy

Customer Reviews