Kiss of Broken Glass

Kiss of Broken Glass

by Madeleine Kuderick

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

In the next 72 hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for 72 hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for a mandatory psychiatric watch. There Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who's there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

Madeleine Kuderick's gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062306562
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/09/2014
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Madeleine Kuderick writes for anthologies and magazines and has spoken at conferences, including the International Reading Association's, where she's an advocate for reluctant readers and the teachers who touch their lives. She has a bachelor's degree from the University of South Florida and an MBA from Saint Leo University.

Madeleine grew up in Oak Park, Illinois, a community with a rich literary tradition, where she was editor in chief of the same high school newspaper that Ernest Hemingway wrote for as a teen. She now lives on Florida's Gulf Coast with her husband and two children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Kiss of Broken Glass 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my. Scary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first the book didn't really tie in, however once I read farther it began to really make sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Normally I would have never read a book like this but the title lured me in. This is one of my favorite books. A short story about a troubled girl that turns her life around I'm 3 days with the help of other troubled children. A MUST READ!
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
Written in verse, this book starts out strong with Kenna’s emotions and feelings spilling out onto the pages as she’s hauled off to the hospital. If only she’d been more careful, if only she’d waited until she returned home but the urges were just too much. It’s a competition at school with most of the girls participating. They compare their scars, sharing their “checkerboard ankles”, and any other marks that their cuts left behind. For these girls are cutters, they are a bonded group of girls known as the Sisters of the Broken Glass. The image of these girls, a substantial group of girls, bonding over something so tragic broke my heart. Instead of sharing secrets about boys, parents or teachers they are discussing how to hide their wounds and how to lie about their actions. The verse works well here and the story moves quickly. I can feel Nenna’s mood and attitude change as her situation becomes serious. The trip to the emergency room turns into a psych evaluation and now she is being closely watched by everyone, if only she had been more cautious. Nenna’s emotions are scattered when she’s admitted into the psych ward for evaluation. Donya, her roommate tells her she must play the game to the discharged. It’s inside the psych ward that I lose interest in her story. Her thoughts are all over the place and are disjointed to the point that I have a hard time seeing Neena’s story played out. She bringing too many different issues into the story, too many I feel don’t really add to the stories beginning. I truly enjoyed Nenna’s story in the beginning and I didn’t expect a complete fix of her life, I just wanted to know where her journey took her.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
 Yeah. Don't feel like doing normal format.  Goodreads update style: rating 3.5 progress (page 1 of 224) I'm starting Kiss of Broken Glass: Okay... When I requested to begin with, it didn't say anything about being in verse.... But this is a subject close to my heart, so I am trying to go in with open mind, and go ahead and connect with kenna before I begin page 9 4.0% "KoBG (title) is tighter than some of the other poetry books I have read. Making it pretty easy for me to follow along and not be confused at what is actually going on. Still not my fave medium but I think I will be finishing" page 14 6.0% "Wondering what the Baker Act is its been mentioned several times... Said its Florida based. Thank you wikipedia... its an act that allows involuntary psych admission." page 60 26.0% "Love her thought patterns and how realistic this book is. Shows how much she craves to cut and that it is something that buries in the mind and takes over life." 150 66.0% "Flying through. Love the group interaction and her and jag. Nothing major there, but still" page 175 78.0% "Peer pressure sucks. It comes out her reasons for starting to cut... And the back of the book where it talks about she didn't have absent parents, no abuse, no sexual assault... Her reasons were different, and I can totally see how she could have felt like she had no other choice. Her friend Rennie took her under wing and helped her be in the popular circle, but its deeper than that." page 210 93.0% "I loved the butterfly from another person in the ward. The premise was to draw a butterfly on wrists or where you cut and then name it. Makes it harder with a name to cut there in theory. Never heard of a strategy like that but thought it was beautiful." page 223 99.0% "The ending is realistic. The book takes place in a span of 72 hours. So Kenna learned a few skills, and thought more about her reasonings. But there was no magic cure. She is sent home and told that relapse is normal... So we have hope that she has the skills to learn to stop cutting." Overall, enjoyed this. The verse worked for me here and I came away feeling emotional but sense of hope. Bottom Line: Surprised me that I connected to a main character in a book told in verse. 
SezjbSB More than 1 year ago
Kiss Of Broken Glass is a contemporary story based around fifteen year old Kenna's 72 hour lockdown in a psychiatric ward after she is caught cutting herself with the blade of a pencil sharpener at school, what started as something to fit in with the group of girls she hangs out with who also cut themselves, she becomes addicted, we get to see her struggles almost like withdrawal symptoms whilst locked away. We get to meet some interesting fellow patients in Donya, Skylar and Jag, and learn about their reasons for being admitted. Written in verse as a diary of her time in there and through Madeleine's writing you almost feel like you're there with Kenna, as she comes to the conclusion that what she does isn't normal and that she needs help, although the book finishes once she leaves the psych ward after the 72 hours are up we get the sense that she wants to stop cutting and maybe just maybe she's on the road to recovery. Cutting is a serious problem of youth and even adults around the world today, I don't read a lot of realistic fiction but this brings home just how unhappy people can be and just what they'll do to make themselves feel better even if it's only for the amount of time it takes to cut themselves and draw blood. This is my very first book I've read in verse and it won't be my last, I flew through this story, both interesting and informative I look forward to Madeleine's next book, her writing is enjoyable and I was intrigued the whole way through.