Kissin Plays Liszt

Kissin Plays Liszt

by Evgeny Kissin


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Kissin Plays Liszt

Recorded between 1987 and 2003, the selections on Kissin Plays Liszt are representative of the Russian pianist's extraordinary virtuosity and the Hungarian composer's wide range of styles and expressions. These live recordings from New York and Tokyo have been compiled in a double-disc package to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Franz Liszt's birth, and Evgeny Kissin's extraordinary grasp of the repertoire guarantees that the music is as exciting and moving as possible. Several of the pieces are among Liszt's best known, such as the "Mephisto Waltz No. 1," the "Liebestraum No. 3," and selections from the increasingly popular "Transcendental Etudes," along with the Schubert transcriptions, but these are never dull in Kissin's hands. Indeed, Kissin's liberties in concert may at times seem self-indulgent and excessive, but surely these can be forgiven in Liszt, especially because they often reveal new possibilities and new perspectives on Liszt's innovative approaches. While this is not the only Liszt album that should be heard to celebrate the bicentennial year, it is one of the more compelling reissues that warrants a hearing, and serves as a reminder that Kissin is still one of the most impressive interpreters of Romantic piano music.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/12/2011
Label: Sony Classics
UPC: 0886978394828
catalogNumber: 783948


Disc 1

  1. Mephisto Waltz (I & II), for piano No. 1 (Der Tanz in der Dorfschenke), S. 514 (LW A189)  (11:56)
  2. Chasse-neige, etude for piano in D flat major (Transcendental Etude No. 12), S. 139/12 (LW A172/12)  (04:55)
  3. Harmonies du soir, for piano (Transcendental Etude No. 11), S. 139/11 (LW A172/11)  (09:07)
  4. Appassionata, etude for piano in F Minor (Transcendental Etude No. 10), S. 139/10 (LW A172/10)  (04:54)
  5. Feux-follets, etude for piano in B flat major (Transcendental Etude No. 5), S. 139/5 (LW A172/5)  (03:19)
  6. Wilde Jagd, etude for piano in C minor (Transcendental Etude No. 8), S. 139/8 (LW A172/8)  (04:46)
  7. La Leggierezza, for piano in F minor (Grandes études de concert No. 2) , S. 144/2 (LW A118/2)  (04:50)
  8. Waldesrauschen (Forest Murmurs), for piano (Zwei Konzertetuden No. 1), S. 145/1 (LW A218/1)  (03:59)

Disc 2

  1. Liebesträume, notturno for piano No. 3 in A flat major ("O Lieb, so lang du lieben kannst"), S. 541/3 (LW A103/3)  (04:35)
  2. Rhapsodie espagnole (Folies d'Espagne et jota aragonesa), for piano, S. 254 (LW A195)  (13:49)
  3. Widmung (Liebeslied), transcription for piano (after Schumann, I & II), S. 566 (LW A133)  (03:51)
  4. Ständchen, Leise flehen meine Lieder, transcription for piano (after Schubert D. 957), S. 560/7 (LW A49/7)  (06:15)
  5. Das Wandern, transcription for piano (after Schubert, D. 795/1), S 565bis/1 (LW A128/1)  (01:40)
  6. Wohin?, transcription for piano (after Schubert, D. 795), S. 565bis/5 (LW A128/5)  (02:53)
  7. Aufenthalt, transcription for piano (after Schubert, D. 957/5), S. 560/3 (LW A49/3)  (03:38)
  8. Die Forelle (II), transcription for piano (after Schubert, D. 550), S. 564 (LW A127)  (02:48)
  9. Erlkönig (II), transcription for piano (after Schubert, D. 328d), S. 558/4 (LW A42/4)  (04:08)
  10. Soirées de Vienne, valse caprice for piano No. 6 (I; after Schubert D. 969 & 779) S. 427/6 (LW A131/6)  (06:22)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews