Knee Deep in the Hoopla

Knee Deep in the Hoopla

by Starship


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, July 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Knee Deep in the Hoopla

Left for dead after the departure of bandleader Paul Kantner the previous year, the newly christened Starship experienced an unexpected commercial comeback with 1985's Knee Deep in the Hoopla. The long-running band's most overtly commercial effort to date, Knee Deep in the Hoopla featured two number one hits: the unusual and much-maligned "We Built This City" and the Mickey Thomas-sung ballad "Sara." The songs, most of which came from outside songwriters, are pleasant but lightweight; when co-lead vocalist Grace Slick rocks out, as she does on "Rock Myself to Sleep," it sounds laughably out of place. Nevertheless, if the tracks are less than memorable, they are very tuneful and melodic and sympathetically produced by Jeremy Smith and hitmaker Peter Wolf (who had penned the group's hit "No Way Out" the previous year). Slick's presence is heavily muted, leaving the spotlight to Thomas' high-pitched arena rock wails. Huge hits notwithstanding, the standout cut on this album is clearly "Love Rusts," an eerie duet between Thomas and Slick tracing the dissolution of a relationship. The album is hardly a great artistic achievement, but it's better than the Starship records that followed, and it fit perfectly with 1985's zeitgeist of '60s relics cleaning up and making MOR comebacks.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2007
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886971637625
catalogNumber: 716376
Rank: 29725

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Starship   Primary Artist
Siedah Garrett   Background Vocals
Grace Slick   Vocals
Pete Sears   Bass,Bass Guitar,Synthesizer Guitar,Synthesizer Bass
Mickey Thomas   Vocals
Craig Chaquico   Guitar
Martin Page   Background Vocals
Peter Beckett   Background Vocals
Simon Climie   Background Vocals
J.C. Crowley   Background Vocals
Lorraine Devon   Background Vocals
Kevin DuBrow   Vocals,Background Vocals
Phillip Ingram   Background Vocals
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Ina Wolf   Background Vocals
Donny Baldwin   Drums,Vocals,Electric Drums,Electronic Drums
Dave Jenkins   Background Vocals
Chris Sutton   Background Vocals
Peter Wolf   Keyboards,electronics

Technical Credits

Michael Bolton   Composer
Mickey Thomas   Composer
Craig Chaquico   Composer
Martin Page   Composer
Michael Fischer   Contributor
Randy Goodrum   Composer
Dennis Lambert   Composer,Executive Producer
Stephen Broughton Lunt   Composer
Jeremy Smith   Producer,Engineer
Bernie Taupin   Composer
Ina Wolf   Composer
David Roberts   Composer
Ted Raess   Artwork,Art Direction
Robert Randall   Composer
Bill Goodman   Contributor
Michinari Yamada   Liner Notes
Kazuhisa Fujita   Reissue Design
Steven Cristol   Composer
Peter Wolf   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jeremy Holland-Smith   Producer,Engineer
Tom Size   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews