Know What I've Learned

Know What I've Learned

by Lynda Jamison


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Know What I've Learned

In the liner notes for her debut album, Lynda Jamison follows the usual practice of listing everyone she wants to thank for helping get into a recording studio, and the list is lengthy. But the one who did her the biggest favor was Rosemary Clooney, who introduced her to her Clooney's longtime musical director, John Oddo. His arrangements and pianism are what go a long way to making the singer's inaugural effort a success. The program is one of familiar standards, as well as a healthy mixture of tunes by the likes of Carroll Coates, Joe Raposo (who did Sesame Street's music), and Charles DeForest of Flower Song fame. Included is a song few vocalists take on because the timing and phrasing have to be perfect to pull it off. The Alex Wilder/Loonis McGlohon "Blackberry Winter" seems to be the province of those singers who are blessed with a special affinity for storytelling, such as Teddi King and Joyce Breach. This is also enhanced by a lyrical trumpet solo by New York cabaret performers' favorite trumpet player, Glenn Drewes. No matter which item on the musical agenda she is dealing with, Jamison treats each with regard and respect. While there is no vestige of over-emoting, such as swoops and shouts or breathless whispering, it's clear that each of these tunes was selected because they mean something special to Jamison. This attachment is clear on such songs as "Tenderly," which features superb guitar accompaniment by Frank Vento. The singer is both coy and sexy (whatever works) on "Daddy," with Drewes adding a jazzy trumpet. This is a fine kickoff to what hopefully will be a full and constant recording career. Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/27/1999
Label: Original Cast Record
UPC: 0704506000129
catalogNumber: 12


  1. Somebody Come and Play
  2. Something in Your Smile
  3. I Won't Believe My Eyes
  4. Daddy
  5. Later for Love
  6. Fools Rush In
  7. Tenderly
  8. Falling in Love with Love
  9. Blackberry Winter
  10. Witchcraft
  11. Old Devil Moon
  12. Close Enough for Love
  13. Know What I've Learned
  14. I'll Be There

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews