Krips Conducts Mozart [Box Set]

Krips Conducts Mozart [Box Set]

by Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

CD(Special Edition)

$36.43 $47.99 Save 24% Current price is $36.43, Original price is $47.99. You Save 24%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Krips Conducts Mozart [Box Set]

Recorded at the end of a long and distinguished career, Austrian conductor Josef Krips' early-'70s stereo Philips' recording of Mozart's last 20 symphonies with the Dutch Concertgebouw Orchestra was one of the touchstones of the repertorie for decades. Grand but fine-grained, colorful but subtly blended, straightforward but stylishly elegant, bright-eyed but warmhearted, Krips and the Concertgebouw perform the impossible trick of balancing Mozart's music between the human and the sublime. And while much of the glamour of these performances seemed to fade with the rise of the period instrument, in this smartly remastered 2007 Decca six-disc collection, Krips and the Concertgebouw sound as strong, vital, and persuasive as ever. Those who already know and admire the graceful Marriner and the masterful Böhm recordings of these works should surely check out Krips. And those who only know and admire the slimmer and, some would say, slighter Hogwood and Pinnock recordings should definitely check out Krips.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/15/2007
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947584735
catalogNumber: 000886702
Rank: 105194


  1. Symphony No. 21 in A major, K. 134
  2. Symphony No. 22 in C major, K. 162
  3. Symphony No. 23 in D major, K. 181 (K. 162b)
  4. Symphony No. 24 in B flat major, K. 182 (K. 173dA)
  5. Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183 (K. 173dB)
  6. Symphony No. 26 in E flat major, K. 184 (K. 161a)
  7. Symphony No. 27 in G major, K. 199 (K. 161b)
  8. Symphony No. 28 in C major, K. 200 (K. 189k)
  9. Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201 (K. 186a)
  10. Symphony No. 30 in D major, K. 202 (K. 186b)
  11. Symphony No. 33 in B flat major, K. 319
  12. Symphony No. 34 in C major, K. 338
  13. Symphony No. 31 in D major ("Paris"), K. 297 (K. 300a)
  14. Symphony No. 31 in D major ("Paris"), K. 297 (K. 300a): Alternative Andante
  15. Symphony No. 35 in D major ("Haffner"), K. 385
  16. Symphony No. 36 in C major ("Linz"), K. 425
  17. Symphony No. 39 in E flat major, K. 543
  18. Symphony No. 41 in C major ("Jupiter"), K. 551
  19. Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550
  20. Symphony No. 32 in G major, K. 318
  21. Symphony No. 38 in D major ("Prague"), K. 504

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews