L.A. After Dark

L.A. After Dark

by Diane Witherspoon


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


L.A. After Dark

Singer Diane Witherspoon has worked with the brother and sister lyricist team of John and Paula Hackett for over two decades, and this is the second CD in which they have collaborated. With a rotating cast of supporting musicians, which includes tenor saxophonist Teddy Edwards, pianist Art Hillery, bassist John Heard, and drummer Roy McCurdy (among others), Witherspoon makes the most of each track. Her richly textured vocals are never overblown but convey sincerity throughout the disc. Edwards wrote the music to both selections on which he appears, the hard-driving opener "Teddy's L.A. After Dark" and "Our Night of Love" (a disappointing ditty about a one-night stand). The late Harry "Sweets" Edison penned the subtle swinger "Sweet Sounds in the Night" and "You'll Believe in Love" (set as an easygoing bossa nova); both tracks showcase fine solos by trumpeter Nolan Shaheed. Witherspoon actually knew the late Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson, who approved of her interpretations of his compositions "Eddie's Clean Machine" and "Love's Disguise," both of which appear on the CD, with tenor saxophonist Herman Riley saluting Vinson with brief but effective solos. It's hard to suppress a broad grin after listening to a full CD by Diane Witherspoon, a gifted veteran singer who deserves wider recognition.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/2004
Label: Summit(Classical)
UPC: 0099402381923
catalogNumber: 381

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Diane Witherspoon   Primary Artist,Vocals
John Heard   Bass
Herman Riley   Tenor Saxophone
Eddie Marshall   Recorder
Tyrone Brown   Bass
Jeff Chambers   Bass
Teddy Edwards   Tenor Saxophone
Art Hillery   Piano
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Alan Marshall   Drums
Nolan Shaheed   Trumpet
Rudi Mwongozi   Piano

Technical Credits

Harry Edison   Composer
Max Roach   Author
Mary Stallings   Author
Dave Bell   Engineer
Tyrone Brown   Composer
Teddy Edwards   Composer
John Hackett   Composer
Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson   Composer
John Rogers   Liner Notes,Author
Eddie Marshall   Composer
Richard S. Ginell   Author
Diane Witherspoon   Composer,Liner Notes
Nolan Shaheed   Engineer
Paula Hackett   Composer,Liner Notes
John Hackett   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews