La Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers

La Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers

Hardcover

$17.95

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781905264179
Publisher: Virgin Books
Publication date: 03/18/2008
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Hillary Carlip’s memoir, Queen of the Oddballs: And Other True Stories from a Life Unaccording to Plan, is an American Booksellers Association “Book Sense Pick” and was selected by Borders as one of the Top Literary Memoirs of 2006. She has appeared on countless radio and TV shows, including Oprah and the Ellen DeGeneres Show. The creator, host, and editor of the acclaimed literary website freshyarn.com, she lives in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

La Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
lasperschlager on LibraryThing 7 months ago
Entertaining. I found myself wanting to know more about these shoppers for the stories Carlip came up with. But I also found myself reading the lists and coming up with my own ideas of who wrote the lists. A fun book and unique idea.
Twink on LibraryThing 7 months ago
The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers --Okay, this was just one of those absolutely quirky fun books I had to share.Hillary Carlip started collecting shopping lists she found as a teenager. This book is the result of that collection. She has taken each list and based on the items listed, the notepaper used and the handwriting, has concocted a story for the twenty six lists in the book. If that wasn't enough, she then becomes each character and is photographed in a shopping environment that matches the list. The transformations are quite spectacular. Take a look at the cover again - those are all Carlip!Fans of Tracey Ullman or The Office would appreciate the humour in this book!
lahochstetler on LibraryThing 7 months ago
This book comes from an interesting concept. Comedienne Hilary Carlip collects abandoned grocery lists, and here she's compiled a group of them and dreamed up the characters who might have written them. Carlip has written a backstory for each of the characters and she's dressed up as each of them. And, shockingly perhaps, her impersonations are quite convincing. Carlip has become everyone from a teenage goth to an elderly man. Some of the stories are funny and some are actually quite sad. What's truly striking about this book is Carlip's ability to portray a ridiculously broad range of characters. The fact that she came up with all of this from a stack of found shopping lists is impressive. THis is a coffee table book. It's both larger than your average book, and full of bright colors and glossy pictures. Ultimately, I found the concept and the photos to be more interesting than the text. This is more a book to thumb through than to sit and read.
amf0001 on LibraryThing 7 months ago
This is the kind of quirky photography book/social anthropology book I really like. Hillary Carlip collects shopping list, not something I would have thought inherently diverse or interesting, but you can see the personalities of the authors spilling out, even through something as silly as paper choice. Then Ms Carlip has made up stories about the lists, creating characters, then she dressed up as the characters and got herself photographed. So only the lists are real, but everything is quirky and interesting. A good book to have in the bathroom (and I mean that in a highly complimentary way!)
verbafacio on LibraryThing 7 months ago
This is a very entertaining, quick read with a great concept. Hilary Carlip takes shopping lists she has found at stores in California and imagines personas for each unknown shopper. Then, with a lot of creative makeup and dressing, she transforms herself into each mystery shopper. The photos are fascinating, and the short introductions that go with each list will have you laughing out loud. A great book to peruse!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Twink More than 1 year ago
The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers --

Okay, this was just one of those absolutely quirky fun books I had to share.

Hillary Carlip started collecting shopping lists she found as a teenager. This book is the result of that collection. She has taken each list and based on the items listed, the notepaper used and the handwriting, has concocted a story for the twenty six lists in the book. If that wasn't enough, she then becomes each character and is photographed in a shopping environment that matches the list. The transformations are quite spectacular. Take a look at the cover again - those are all Carlip!

Fans of Tracey Ullman or The Office would appreciate the humour in this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. The concept is pure genius: the author has accumulated a lifetime of discarded shopping lists, reducing them down to the most intriguing and hilarious. Next she has written careful, studied, and simply hysterical character pieces describing the people who created the lists. But it is the photographs that will amaze you. You simply have got to get this book, open it up, and take a look inside. They are astonishing. This would make such a perfect Mother's Day gift. I have laughed and laughed reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You know how Eddie Murphy plays all those characters in the movies? Well this book is like that, except more fun because superstar comedy lady Hillary Carlip plays all the characters in the photographs in this book, and wrote the book! She found actual real shopping lists (she's been hunting them down for years) and then imagined what the people who wrote the lists would be like. It's so fun, and it seems like it would be a great book to give friends, because really, who doesn't write grocery lists? Maybe Ivana Trump or somebody wouldn't like it, but any normal person would find this book hilarious! My favorite was this guy Woody (you'd never know it's a woman in the picture) who was this totally skeevy guy whose list was just beer and oreos. Nice health regime! Anyway, it's a great book, and I highly reccomend it.