The Labyrinth

The Labyrinth


$14.60 $15.95 Save 8% Current price is $14.6, Original price is $15.95. You Save 8%.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781933872049
Publisher: Lima Bear Press
Publication date: 08/01/2012
Series: Lima Bear Stories
Pages: 32
Product dimensions: 11.00(w) x 8.60(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 5 - 7 Years

About the Author

Thomas Weck is a national award-winning author and coauthor of the Lima Bear Stories series of children’s books. He lives in Wilmington, Delaware. Peter Weck is a board member of the Menlo Park Library Foundation, the CEO of StoryJumper, and the coauthor of the Lima Bear Stories series. He lives in Atherton, California. Len DiSalvo is an animator and illustrator for a wide range of print projects and award-winning computer games. He teaches art illustration and animation at the Art Center Design College. He lives in Tucson, Arizona.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Labyrinth 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
MomsChoiceAwards More than 1 year ago
The Labyrinth is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.
HomeSchoolBookReview More than 1 year ago
Do you know what a labyrinth is? Kind and good King Limalot Bear has ruled the kingdom of Beandom for many years, but now he has grown too old and makes his daughter, Princess Belinda Bean, the new queen. Everyone is happy, that is except for jealous Mean Ol’ Bean, who wants to be king instead. Belinda loves flowers, so he decides to get rid of her by luring her into a labyrinth or maze near the castle which has a magic flower garden in its center and trapping her there forever so that he can be king. However, Lima Bear’s cousin, L. Joe Bean, who is very small but is also the wisest man in the kingdom, learns about Mean Ol’ Bean’s plot. What can L. Joe Bean do to save the Queen? Will Queen Belinda be captured or will she be able to escape? And what will happen to Mean Ol’ Bean? The Labyrinth is book number four in “The Lima Bear Stories.” Lima Bear and his friends are small, bean-sized creatures. I have previously had the privilege of reading and reviewing The Megasaurus, How Back-Back Got His Name, and The Cave Monster. Each one presents an important message, and the take-away lesson from this fourth volume is to have room in your heart for forgiveness. Children also will be introduced to having to deal with the problem of jealousy, which often results from something which they did innocently, and will learn that one doesn’t have to be large to accomplish good things. A couple of pages in the back of the book contain questions for before, during, and after reading and some hands-on activities to “Extend the Learning.” This is a story that will be both entertaining and meaningful whether read alone or read aloud.
PennyMindingMom More than 1 year ago
The Labyrinth is a wonderful fast paced, interactive story for children. My daughter absolutely adores it. We read it every night for a full week. Sometimes I would read the story to her, and sometimes she would read it to me. The story revolves around Mean Ole Bean, who wants to take over the throne! He lures Queen Belinda Bean into a labyrinth from which there is no escape. Can L. Joe Bean uncover the plot and save the day? What will happen to Mean Ole Bean? You will have to read the story to find out! The book has some beautiful illustrations. I’ve uploaded a video of Zee reading the story, and if you listen closely you can hear her say how gorgeous the flowers are. My daughter loves looking at the pictures and talking about what she sees. The story allows us to tackle a tricky subjects like jealousy and courage in a way that my daughter is able to understand. There is a great little rhyme in the story that Zee “reads” with me. It’s highlighted in a different colour, so she knows when it’s coming up. It’s a fun way to encourage her to participate in reading the book with me. At the back of the book there are suggestions to enhance your child’s reading experience and further learning. The authors have added suggestions on activities and questions that you can before, during and after you read the story with your child. They have also included some great activities to do. One of the activities suggested is “Wind Watcher”. It suggests that we watch the wind for a while and chart our observations. Although we didn’t do the charting, I picked up a rainbow pin-wheel and we take some time each day to figure out what the wind is doing using the descriptions provided. This is the fourth title in The Lima Bear Stories series. It is a stand alone story. I haven’t read the other stories (yet), but hope to do so soon! Other titles include The Megasaurus, How Back-Back Got His Name, and The Cave Monster. Disclosure: I received the products mentioned above for this review. No monetary compensation was received by me. This is my completely honest opinion above and may differ from yours.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
The Lima Bears are back! And once again, our favorite “bean,” little L. Joe Bean saves the day in this sweet adventure of a queen, a labyrinth and a very greedy Mean Ol’ Bean who wants the throne for himself. King Limalot has decided that he is tired of life as king and it is time to step down. With no sons to pass his throne to, the duties fall to his daughter Belinda. Everybody in the Kingdom is happy and cheers for the new queen. That is, everybody but Mean Ol’ Bean who schemes and plans for a way to become ruler of the land. Oh, Mean Ol’ Bean/how he did scheme./To be rid of the Queen,/that was his dream. Soon, Mean Ol’ Bean comes up with a dastardly plot to lure the Queen away from her throne. There is a labyrinth in the Kingdom with the most wonderful magic garden at the center. But the garden is only a rumor because nobody has ever seen it – the labyrinth is too big and confusing for anybody to find the garden. However, with the help of some pink flower petals, Mean Ol’ Bean is able to locate the garden and more importantly, find his way out. Now he can lure the Queen to the garden and leave her there! Fortunately, L. Joe Bean learns of Mean Ol’ Bean’s evil plot. Will L. Joe Bean be able to save the Queen before it is too late and she is lost forever? The Labyrinth is the fourth book in the Lima Bear series and the authors are really starting to find their grove. The characters are developed nicely and the stories are a lot of fun. Children will be challenged along with L. Joe Bean to think of a way to escape from the labyrinth. There is also a nice message about forgiveness that adds an additional dimension to the story. Finally, at the back of the book there are two pages to “Extend the Learning” and “Activities” with suggestion on what to do before, during and after reading the book to keep the conversation going with your youngster(s). All this, combined with bright and engaging illustrations make The Labyrinth a winner. Quill says: Visit the Lima Bears again in this charming, clever and entertaining continuation to the Lima Bear series.