Lady of the English

Lady of the English

by Elizabeth Chadwick
4.3 40

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.49 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Lady of the English by Elizabeth Chadwick

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown-a woman!

More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick:
The Greatest Knight-the seldom told story of the Greatest Knight of the Middle Ages
The Summer Queen –a novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine
To Defy a King-the story of a noble woman in a tyrant's world

What readers are saying about Lady of the English

"Great historical details and world-building combined with out-of-this-world characterization."

"Everything about this story was compelling, and though it was a long book of 514 pages, I enjoyed every word."

"I was from the start deeply immersed into the lives and politics of the times."

"As absorbing as a thriller and full of fascinating historical detail."

What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English

"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."-Laura's Reviews

"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."-Historical-Fiction.com

"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."-Historical Novel Review Blog

What people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." – USA Today

"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."-Books Monthly, UK

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." -Historical Novels Review

"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."-The Burton Review

"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."-RT Book Reviews

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." –Daily Telegraph

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781402250934
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 09/01/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 544
Sales rank: 109,354
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Elizabeth Chadwick is the author of 17 historical novels, including The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, A Place Beyond Courage, For the King's Favor, Shadows and Strongholds, The Winter Mantle, The Falcons of Montabard, and To Defy a King, six of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards.


"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here,"-USA Today. Chadwick is the bestselling author of over 20 historical novels, including The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, A Place Beyond Courage, Lords of the White Castle, Shadows and Strongholds, The Winter Mantle, and The Falcons of Montabard, four of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lady of the English 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
Two women desire to be the Queen of 12th Century England. One, Adeliza, wife of Henry I, sees her role as an actual Queen to be that of peacemaker in a realm where loyalties are based on ambition and the acquisition of power through land and riches. Such loyalties are bound to fluctuate as the tides of power fluctuate over the years. Another woman, Matilda, the daughter of Henry I, has been promised she will be Queen upon the King's passing. Henry believes he has guaranteed this in having his counselors and liege lords pledge their loyalty on bended knee to Matilda. This is Matilda's story, a journey of yearning and suffering as Stephen of Blois usurps the throne after Henry's death. Matilda is married to Geoffrey of Anjou, a brutal man who almost destroys his wife. Scathingly sarcastic, Geoffrey, however, is a superb military strategist and supports Matilda's quest for the crown only because he believes it will benefit his own dreams of power. The plot is not as simple as described so far. There are moments of temporary victory, moments of intense sorrow, and ultimately moments when the realization strikes that the timing is all wrong for Matilda's ascension to Queen of England. Thus a brutal civil war begins that tears apart a country undeserving of the shifting spheres of loyalty and success that follow. Adeliza, believing Matilda should rightly fulfill her queenly destiny, and the men who surround Matilda are complex characters as portrayed in this engaging novel. Matilda is remarkably unable to truly control her strategy and even disregards the advise of those more knowledgeable about how to win over the lords who begin to see Stephen's weaknesses. Adeliza risks much in her loyalty to Matilda, shown in some heartrending scenes that remain potent long after they are read. Indeed, Adeliza is frequently the more sympathetic character than Matilda, a tough woman who hides her heart because she fears it may be deemed weakness. The Lady of the English is an interesting story about this little-known slice of history and the woman who spent so much of her life in truth preparing another and those around her for the role of ruling the formidable Kingdom of England. Fascinating Middle Ages historical fiction!
AAR More than 1 year ago
LADY OF THE ENGLISH by Elizabeth Chadwick is an interesting Medieval fiction set in 1125 Germany,Normany amd 1126 London. It is written with depth and details.The characters are interesting,engaging,and enchanting.This is the story of two women,one of which is a Queen and the other an Empress and the Crown that defines them both. This is the story of Matilda,the daugther of Henry I,and Adeliza,Henry I's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother. Their struggles to survive,their heartrending pain,the men who supports them,the men who is against them,and the struggle for a crown that defines them both and their loved ones. It is about kings,daughters, widows,fathers, daugthers,history,and the succession of a kingdom.This is a tragic story that is both heartrending and heartbreaking with a cast of characters that have both depth and focus.She has weaved a strong plotline,characters and historical accuracy.This is a captivating story of Henry I's court and his kingdom. A must read for any Medieval,historical readers. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher.Details can be found at Sourcebooks Landmark,an imprint of Sourcebooks,Inc.and My Book Addiction Reviews.
KrazyGramma More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written. I love this author. She gives full and vibrant descriptions and you don't even realize you've read an adjective. This book fills in the lineage of King Henry II and makes the era come alive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maud has always been one of my favorite personages since i was 16 and given ellen jones's fictional "the fatal crown". I have been hooked on maud ever since. There are several other books out there that use her story as a backdrop, most recently "the pillars of the earth "highlighted her struggle against stephen. I loved how the animosity flowed out on the pages between maud & geoffrey!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I realize the book was to give more insight to the two Queens, focusing on Maltida and second, her father's second Queen, Adeliza. But being a stickler for detail, I just felt so much detail was left out on what went on during Matida's campaign while she was in England - an important factor was exactly how King Stephen was captured during the one battle and more of her brother, Robert's, involvement and what an excellent battle commander he was and more detail on how much Matida depended on him. I do recommend reading this book, however it would be helpful to also read Sharon Kay Penman's "When Christ and His Saint's Slept" (first in the Eleanor of Aquataine trilogy), which fills in all of the historical gaps (and Penman is on target w/all of the facts), starting with the sinking of the White Ship. As I said, I enjoyed the book, but much speculation on the fiction part, and more historical details would have helped explain Maltida's plight and how the tide did turn against Stephen.
penname96 More than 1 year ago
Another Great Chadwick book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms. Chadwicks books are always a great read. They flow so well and yes at times can be a little long but well worth reading. I wish this book had come out on Nook when it did in stores but thats the publisher not BN. Read her books if you like this time period you won't be sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
book kept me intrigued, love midievel history
bldens More than 1 year ago
You will feel the better for having read this book. It has the historical facts to put aside the "romance novel" and yet emotion threads through the fabric of the characters. The historical figures were strong in the Middle Ages as they are in this book. While the start lacks the thrill of the typical novel, the reader who is curious will enjoy the story immensely. Possibly a preference for the female reader, it is revealing about male psychological traits too. No regrets about finishing this - and there are numerous nest-sellers that I do discard before the final page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plot spoilers should be banned, fined, and their posts deleted. They ruin books for other readers. Have you ever considered we would like to read the book for ourselves and not have you read it for us and condense it for us? Stop with the plot reveals. It is rude.
Anonymous 21 days ago
I liked the part where there was trouble pitching the queen's tent, but it got sorted out eventually.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I can imagine I'm in the room with these people.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Beautiful look at life in another time period.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to put down, just to let you know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago