Lake of Tears (Claire Watkins Series #9)

Lake of Tears (Claire Watkins Series #9)

by Mary Logue

Paperback

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Overview

"Logue writes beautifully about rural Minnesota life while telling a good mystery. For fans of J.A. Jance and Margaret Maron." —Library Journal

Deputy Sheriff Claire Watkins has had an easy summer in Fort St. Antoine, Wisconsin; the only problem is that her daughter Meg is leaving for college soon. When Claire walks down to the park to watch the Burning Boat—a large replica of a Norwegian longboat set on the shores of Lake Pepin, burned at the autumnal equinox—she has no idea that more than just a wooden structure is going up in flames.

The next day, the bones of a young woman are found in the ashes. When Claire learns that the new deputy she has hired, a vet returning from Afghanistan, was the young woman's former boyfriend, and that he is now dating her daughter Meg, she is desperate to find out who is responsible for the death.

In order to get to the heart of this mystery, Claire must understand what happened in an attack in the mountains of Afghanistan, which left one man wounded, one man killed, and one man disturbed. Could one of those two remaining men be the killer?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781440571510
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 01/18/2014
Series: Claire Watkins Series , #9
Pages: 208
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.43(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Award-winning writer Mary Logue was born and raised in Minnesota. She has published twelve adult mystery novels (including the Claire Watkins mystery series), four books of poetry, several nonfiction books, and many children's books. Her books have won a Minnesota Book Award, a Wisconsin Outstanding Achievement award, the Charlotte Zolotow honor award, a Caldecott Honor, and been nominated for an Edgar Award. Her latest novel, Giving up the Ghost, is being serialized summer 2013 in the Star Tribune. She has written articles for the New York Times, Village Voice, Star Tribune, and St. Paul Pioneer Press. She lives with writer Pete Hautman in Golden Valley, Minnesota, and Stockholm, Wisconsin.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lake of Tears (Claire Watkins Series #9) 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lake of Tears is by far the best of the Claire Watkins series thus far. The plotline is fairly predictable but the content is relevant and it engages me the way past books in the series have not. I would highly recommend this one. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous 11 months ago
to+much+information+about+unimportant++facts.++word+diarrhea++