The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

Paperback(Reprint)

$19.95
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20

Overview

"Brilliant…harrowing…Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell." —Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century’s most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World—in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa—recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator’s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393342338
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 06/25/2012
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 1,242,308
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

António Lobo Antunes, born in 1942 in Benfica, is considered to be Portugal's greatest living writer. The author of more than twenty novels, including What Can I Do When Everything's On Fire?, he has won many awards and makes his home in Lisbon.

Award-winning translator Margaret Jull Costa lives in England.

Customer Reviews