Last Girl Gone: A Laura Chambers Novel

Last Girl Gone: A Laura Chambers Novel

by J. G. Hetherton

Hardcover

$26.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

A Sun-Sentinel Top Debut Mystery of 2018

"Last Girl Gone is…your new favorite procedural." —Bustle

This pulse-pounding series debut is the next obsession for fans of Julia Keller and David Bell, and readers of unflinching thrillers.

Sometimes, the journey home is the most harrowing. And it’s every parent’s worst nightmare.


Investigative journalist Laura Chambers is back in her tiny hometown of Hillsborough, North Carolina, the one place she swore never to return. Fired from the Boston Globe, her career in shambles, she reluctantly takes a job with the local paper. The work is simple, unimportant, and worst of all, boring—at least until a missing girl turns up dead, the body impeccably clean, dressed to be the picture of innocence.

Years earlier, ten-year-old Patty Finch left home and never made it back. But for the people of Hillsborough, Patty was just the beginning. Child after child disappeared, a reign of terror the town desperately wants to forget. Now that terror has returned to seize another girl. And another. And another.

This is the story Laura’s been waiting for—her one last chance to get back onto the front page. She dives deeper into a case that runs colder by the second, only to discover the truth may be far closer to home than she could have ever imagined. Powerful, intricate, and tense, Last Girl Gone will have you looking over your shoulder long after the last page.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683316176
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 06/12/2018
Series: A Laura Chambers Novel Series , #1
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 1,217,638
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

J. G. Hetherton was in raised in rural Wisconsin, graduated from Northwestern University, and lived in Chicago for the better part of a decade. Along the way to his first novel, he dabbled in many different day jobs before moving to North Carolina for a girl. They live in Durham, North Carolina with their twin daughters, and when he’s not writing, you can find him on the hiking trail or sitting down with a good book.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Last Girl Gone: A Laura Chambers Novel 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If+you+love+a+narrator+who+reads+EVERY+sentence+as+edge-of-your-seat%2C+and+an+author+%28male%2C+no+less%29+who+apparently+hates+his+own+gender%2C+then+this+is+the+book+for+you.+If+you+don%27t+believe+that+every+single+man+on+the+planet+is+a+misogynistic%2C+sexual+predator%2C+and+all+women+just+here+to+be+their+sad+playthings%2C+then+don%27t+bother.+Hetherton+takes+what+could+be+a+semi-decent+thriller+and+deftly+ruins+it+with+a+slew+of+unbelievable+characters+who+seem+to+hate+one+another+because+of+their+genders.+Ugh%21+There+is+tension+between+sexes%2C+and+then+there%27s+this+drivel.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Last Girl Gone by L.G. Heatherton Laura Chambers Mystery #1 Debut authors are hit or miss but I do believe L.G. Heatherton has a good future if this, his debut novel, is a sample of what he can do. I have to admit that I did not much like investigative journalist Laura Chambers and how she went about getting her story but will say she was relentless in pursuit of finding facts for her article. She had no trouble using people to get what she wanted and sometimes it did create trouble for her and for others. At times I found myself skipping ahead trying to find out what would happen but if I had not done so I do believe that the serial murderer would have been a huge surprise. I am a person that reads the end of a book first then find out how the story unravels or is narrated and if it holds my interest then it is deemed a very good story. And, this was a good book though I felt it was a bit slow at times. I am definitely interested in finding out what Laura will do in the future. Will she stay in Hillsborough? Will she go back to the big city? Will she solve another case in town or somewhere nearby? Will she and FBI agent Timinski work together in the future? I guess that since I am curious and have questions that require books in this series the author has done his job in creating a character I am willing to invest more time with. Thank you to NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4-5 Stars