by Fatboy Slim


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Sampladelic novelty hits and big-beat productions tossed aside, Norman Cook has been an inveterate DJ, crate-digger, and music lover since the early '80s -- long before he picked up a bass to join the Housemartins or first began joyfully plundering the music of the past for chart action in the present. His volume in the LateNightTales series may not fully reflect the music sampled by his various projects -- Beats International, Freak Power, Pizzaman, and finally Fatboy Slim -- but it definitely displays a rich knowledge of British music culture from the '60s and '70s. While '70s new wave and pub rock chestnuts begin the set (led by Mink DeVille and Nick Lowe), Cook detours into roots reggae for four tracks and hits American soul/funk for a time before wrapping up with Bootsy Collins' "Everything Is Everything" -- not a cover of the Donny Hathaway classic but a poem written by Paul Heaton (friend to Cook from their days in the Housemartins). Overall, Cook digs pretty deep for this set. Even Jonathan Richman's famous "Roadrunner" is heard here in an earlier version, and Cook mastered all of these directly from his original vinyl (which somehow gives Nick Lowe's familiar "I Love the Sound of Breaking Glass" a surprising similarity to Steve Miller Band). The only new track is naturally by Fatboy Slim himself, a relatively faithful cover of Kraftwerk's "Radioactivity" with vocals supplied by the woman from Cook's favorite record shop.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2007
Label: Thrive
UPC: 0651249077928
catalogNumber: 90779

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fatboy Slim   Primary Artist
Taj Mahal   Vocals
Bootsy Collins   Readings
Myriam Tisler   Vocals

Technical Credits

Taj Mahal   Composer,Producer
Mickey Newbury   Composer
Gregg Allman   Composer
Kraftwerk   Composer
Lou Reed   Composer
Vince Guaraldi   Composer
Willy DeVille   Composer
Mike Post   Producer
Jack Nitzsche   Producer
Charles Wright   Composer
Oscar Brown   Composer
Jimmy Bowen   Producer
Norman Cook   Liner Notes
Luchi de Jesus   Producer
Paul Heaton   Composer
Nick Lowe   Producer
Andrea Martin   Composer,Producer
Sterling Morrison   Composer
Robert Payne   Composer
Sylvester "Sly Stone" Stewart   Producer
Errol Thompson   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Syreeta Wright   Composer
Fatboy Slim   Producer,Hook
Ivan Matias   Composer,Producer
Simon Thornton   Producer,Hook
Wade Everal Brammer   Composer
Kenny Rogers   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews