Lead Me Home

Lead Me Home

by Theresa Hupp

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Lead Me Home by Theresa Hupp

In 1847, Caleb "Mac" McDougall, a young Bostonian, seeks adventure on the Oregon Trail. As he passes through Missouri, he rescues Jenny Calhoun, a lonely girl in trouble.

To join a wagon train bound for Oregon, Mac and Jenny pose as a married couple. On the arduous six-month trek, they confront raging rivers, rugged mountains, and untrustworthy companions. Together, Mac and Jenny face the best and worst in themselves and in each other, while discovering the beauty and danger of the western frontier.

Fans of Lonesome Dove and True Grit will enjoy Lead Me Home--a gripping saga of courage, sacrifice, and enduring friendship.


"Lead Me Home is a riveting story of the westward movement. . . . A not to be missed novel about the strength of character and infinite bravery and determination of our ancestors." Pamela Boles Eglinski, author of Return of the French Blue and She Rides with Genghis Khan

Product Details

BN ID: 2940151214087
Publisher: Rickover Publishing
Publication date: 09/28/2015
Series: Oregon Chronicles , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 475,004
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Theresa Hupp’s interest in the Oregon Trail began in childhood. She grew up in Eastern Washington near the Whitman Mission, and Narcissa Whitman was her heroine. Theresa also lived in the Willamette Valley as a child, and now lives in Kansas City, Missouri. Thus, she knows both the beginning and the end of the trail well.

Theresa is the award-winning author of novels, short stories, essays, and poetry, and has worked as an attorney, mediator, and human resources executive.

She has published a novel—a bestselling financial thriller—under a pseudonym, as well as an anthology under her own name, Family Recipe: Sweet and saucy stories, essays, and poems about family life. In addition, Theresa has published short works in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Mozark Press, and Kansas City Voices. She is a member of the Kansas City Writers Group, Missouri Writers Guild, Oklahoma Writers Federation, Inc., and Write Brain Trust.

Theresa’s blog is Story & History: One writer’s journey through life and time, , where she often posts about the Oregon Trail. She invites readers to follow her there, on her Facebook Author page, and on Amazon at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lead Me Home 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
SitAwhile More than 1 year ago
Lead Me Home is a riveting story of the westward movement. It lends a first hand image of life on a wagon train -- for six months! I feel the dust in my teeth and grit in my hair. But dust was the least of the travelers' problems. This is a not to be missed novel about the strength of character and infinite bravery and determination of our ancestors. Perfect for reading to younger children and ideal for those who love stories of settling the western states. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The courage of the Western pioneers really comes through in this novel. Can't wait for the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The courage and resourcefulness of the Western emigrants was amazing -- this book brings their struggles to life. The author does a great job of developing an interesting cast of characters and really knows her history. Highly recommended.