Lessons from the Sea: Stories of the Deadliest Occupation from a Bering Sea Captain

Lessons from the Sea: Stories of the Deadliest Occupation from a Bering Sea Captain

by Steven R. Smith


$15.26 $16.95 Save 10% Current price is $15.26, Original price is $16.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15


The Deadliest Catch reality show has opened people’s eyes to the world of commercial fishing, the most deadly occupation. Most people could not even begin to imagine the painstaking work that those men endure; yet, they wish they were tough and brave enough to handle such an adventure. Steve Smith spent nearly 18 years of his life as such a commercial fisherman in the cold waters of the North Pacific Ocean. He worked his way up through the ranks to become Captain of one of the most successful Dungeness crab and long-line fishing vessels in the fleet.

Steve shares his entertaining yet enlightening adventure stories about the highs, challenging lows and the roughest, wildest side of Alaska and the Bering Sea. Welcome aboard and enjoy!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781940262574
Publisher: Clovercroft Publishing
Publication date: 10/01/2012
Pages: 240
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Steve Smith spent 18 years of his life in the commercial fishing industry. In this high risk and ultra competitive industry, he honed his knowledge and skills in the area of leadership, teamwork, motivation and living life. He became a top producer and earned the title of Highliner, given only to an elite few out of a fleet of thousands.

Table of Contents

Section I Storms at Sea

Chapter 1 Highliners 1

Chapter 2 Setting Course 7

Chapter 3 Opening Day 15

Chapter 4 Perseverance 25

Chapter 5 The Red Line 37

Chapter 6 Humility 39

Chapter 7 Perseverance II 45

Chapter 8 The North Coast 53

Chapter 9 Deliverance 59

Chapter 10 Daybreak 65

Section II Dangers at Sea

Chapter 11 Setting Course II 81

Chapter 12 A Change in Plans 91

Chapter 13 Perseverance III 97

Chapter 14 Leadership Lessons 105

Chapter 15 Who's on Watch? Ill

Chapter 16 Bird Watching 131

Chapter 17 Perseverance IV 137

Chapter 18 Thoughts are Things 153

Chapter 19 Deliverance II 159

Chapter 20 Night Magic 175

Chapter 21 New Beginnings 179

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews