Let's No One Get Hurt: A Novel

Let's No One Get Hurt: A Novel

by Jon Pineda


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


“An inventive and powerful coming of age story about the search for community and all the ways our ties to one another come undone. Jon Pineda has a poet’s eye for the details of this vivid, haunting landscape, and he brings it blazingly to life.” —Jenny Offill, author of Dept. of Speculation

With the cinematic and terrifying beauty of the American South humming behind each line, Jon Pineda’s Let’s No One Get Hurt is a coming-of-age story set equally between real-world issues of race and socioeconomics, and a magical, Huck Finn-esque universe of community and exploration.

Fifteen-year-old Pearl is squatting in an abandoned boathouse with her father, a disgraced college professor, and two other grown men, deep in the swamps of the American South. All four live on the fringe, scavenging what they can—catfish, lumber, scraps for their ailing dog. Despite the isolation, Pearl feels at home with her makeshift family: the three men care for Pearl and teach her what they know of the world.

Mason Boyd, aka “Main Boy,” is from a nearby affluent neighborhood where he and his raucous friends ride around in tricked-out golf carts, shoot their fathers’ shotguns, and aspire to make Internet pranking videos. While Pearl is out scavenging in the woods, she meets Main Boy, who eventually reveals that his father has purchased the property on which Pearl and the others are squatting. With all the power in Main Boy’s hands, a very unbalanced relationship forms between the two kids, culminating in a devastating scene of violence and humiliation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250310330
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 03/12/2019
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 545,855
Product dimensions: 4.97(w) x 8.02(h) x 0.68(d)

About the Author

Jon Pineda is the author of the memoir, Sleep in Me, a 2010 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection; the novel Apology, the winner of the 2013 Milkweed National Fiction Prize; and three collections of poetry. His work has appeared in Poetry Northwest, Literary Review, Asian Pacific American Journal, and elsewhere. He teaches in the MFA program at Queens University of Charlotte and is a member of the creative writing faculty of the College of William & Mary.

Customer Reviews