Liar Liar (DS Grace Allendale, Book 3)

Liar Liar (DS Grace Allendale, Book 3)

by Mel Sherratt

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


‘An absolute masterpiece’ ANGELA MARSONS

The gripping new novel from million-copy bestseller, Mel Sherratt.

‘I love all Mel Sherratt’s books’ IAN RANKIN

‘Twists and turns and delivers a satisfying shot of tension’ RACHEL ABBOTT

The truth can be a dangerous thing…

When a young boy falls from a balcony in a block of flats, DS Grace Allendale witnesses the shocking aftermath of the tragic event. But strangely, no one will admit to seeing anything – and the parents will only tell the police that it was an accident.
Determined to sort the truth from the lies, Grace is thrown into a case that takes her to the darkest corners of the criminal world – and strikes closer to home than she could have ever imagined…

A gripping and pacey thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat from the moment you turn the first page. The perfect read for fans of Martina Cole.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008368074
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/10/2020
Series: DS Grace Allendale , #3
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 62,766
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Mel Sherratt is the author of fourteen crime novels, all of which have become bestsellers. For the past four years, she has been named as one of her home town of Stoke-on-Trent’s top 100 influential people.

She regularly appears at festivals and speaks at writing conferences throughout the UK, and pens a column for her local newspaper, The Sentinel, as well as feature articles for other newspapers and magazines.

She lives in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with her husband and terrier, Dexter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Liar Liar (DS Grace Allendale, Book 3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
dlvandruff 8 days ago
Harrison House seems like a nice apartment complex. There is a mixture of elderly, family's, and you couples. Then a two year old child is dangled over the side of the building and dropped. There's also a young kid that is beaten with a baseball. He has broken ribs and extensive bruising inside and out. Not only that an elderly woman is punched in the face and pushed down the cement stairs, killing her. What is happening, could all these events be connected or are they individual crimes? Detective Grace has her work cut out for her. First on the agenda is discovering who would maliciously throw a young toddler off a balcony injuring his head and breaking his foot. What kind of person does that?
labmom55 8 days ago
Mel Sherratt has a well deserved reputation as an author of strong police procedurals. I’ve been a fan of all her various series. This, the third in the Grace Allendale series, has Grace investigating a young toddler who “falls” from the balcony in a block of flats. We know that several folks saw something but no one will admit to knowing anything. Even the parents will only say it was an accident. At the same time, there was some sort of commotion going on at the car park. I love that we’re kept clueless about whether the two incidents are related or not. The storyline hits home as “no snitching” seems to be the mantra on both sides of the pond. Sherratt does a great job of projecting the fear behind the silence. We hear from each of the characters, which helps to move the story along at a brisk pace. It also gives us insights that Grace doesn’t have. This is a series that works best if read in order. Actually, it even makes sense to read her Allie Shenton series first as the gangster family, the Steeles, make their first appearance there. And Allie is now Grace’s boss but her appearance in this book is minimal. Another well done book to add to Ms. Sherratt’s resume. My thanks to netgalley and Avon Books for an advance copy of this book.
lynguy1 14 days ago
LIAR LIAR by Mel Sherratt is the third book in the DS Grace Allendale crime thriller series. The story takes place in England and the author brought this reader a gripping, intense and intriguing story. When a young boy falls from a balcony, DS Grace Allendale and her partner DS Frankie Higgins are nearby on another police matter so they are quick to arrive, but no one seemed to see anything and the parents say it was an accident. Grace and Frankie work to find out the truth, but that is more easily said than done. Meanwhile other police-involved incidents happen in the area of the same block of flats. What is going on? Are the events related or not? Who saw what and who is lying? The plot switches back and forth between two different timelines and this detracted a little bit from the overall flow. However, by the end of the book, it made total sense as to why the author did this. There are lots of twists and turns in this engrossing, shocking, and suspenseful book. Themes explored include murder, assault, family, gambling, deceit, lying, gangs, the criminal underworld, and much, much more. The characters were compelling and three-dimensional with clear goals. The secondary characters were well-rounded and enhanced the story. The stakes and tension were high throughout most of the story making it a true page-turner. Overall, I enjoyed this well-written novel and recommend the series to those that enjoy crime thrillers and police procedurals. It is the first book that I have read by this author and I am already looking forward to reading the first two in the series. This is an amazing “new to me” author. Thanks to Avon Books UK and Mel Sherratt for a digital ARC of this novel via NetGalley and the opportunity to provide an honest review. Opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.
XavierHugonet 14 days ago
Liar Liar is the third novel in the DS Grace Allendale series by author Mel Sherratt. It’s a British police procedural. DS Grace Allendale is now living with Simon, a local journalist, and has had her job focused on community relations in Stokes. She’s estranged from her family, reigning crime bosses of the city, and has a new, recently promoted partner. The story begins when a young boy falls from a balcony in a block of flats, the Harrison House. Quickly, foul play is suspected. However, no one in Harrison House seems ready to come forward with information, and the parents themselves insist that the fall was an accident. It appears that Harrison House is under the thumb of a violent young kingpin wannabe, Seth Forrester. No one wants to get on his bad side. The reader is however informed that both parents think they’re at fault for what happened to their son, and for different reasons they keep from each other. Two stories run concurrently: the troubles at Harrison House, that keep piling up, and the troubles the mother is in, on which the reader is slowly let in by flashbacks to her past. The protagonists either don’t talk, or lie. And when they’re caught lying, they answer with more lies. All this explaining the book’s title, and making the investigation quite difficult for DS Allendale and her partners. It’s made a little easier for the reader. We are indeed provided with more information, and the main culprit can be guessed before he’s finally revealed by the author. Liar Liar is a quick light read, and possess all the qualities we expect from such a British police procedural. It’s a series I will no doubt keep following. Thanks to Avon Books UK and Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for this unbiased review.