Library of History, Volume XII: Fragments of Books 33-40

Library of History, Volume XII: Fragments of Books 33-40

Hardcover(2nd printing/1st pub.1967)



Diodorus Siculus, Greek historian of Agyrium in Sicily, ca. 80—20 BCE, wrote forty books of world history, called Library of History, in three parts: mythical history of peoples, non-Greek and Greek, to the Trojan War; history to Alexander's death (323 BCE); history to 54 BCE. Of this we have complete Books I—V (Egyptians, Assyrians, Ethiopians, Greeks) and Books XI—XX (Greek history 480—302 BCE); and fragments of the rest. He was an uncritical compiler, but used good sources and reproduced them faithfully. He is valuable for details unrecorded elsewhere, and as evidence for works now lost, especially writings of Ephorus, Apollodorus, Agatharchides, Philistus, and Timaeus.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of Diodorus Siculus is in twelve volumes.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674994652
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/01/1967
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #423
Edition description: 2nd printing/1st pub.1967
Pages: 688
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 6.38(h) x (d)

About the Author

Francis Redding Walton (1910–1989) taught at Florida State University and the University of Chicago and was Director of the Gennadius Library of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

Table of Contents


The Library Of History

Book XXXIII Fragments

Books XXXIV And XXXV Fragments

Book XXXVI Fragments

Book XXXVII Fragments

Books XXXVIII And XXXIX Fragments

Book XL Fragments

Fragments Of Uncertain Location

Introductory Note To Index

Table Of Olympiads And Years

Index To Diodorus

Concordance Of Editions


Customer Reviews