Free Shipping on Orders of $35 or More
Life after Murder: Five Men in Search of Redemption

Life after Murder: Five Men in Search of Redemption

by Nancy Mullane


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 24


Once a murderer, always a murderer? Or can a murderer be redeemed? Who do they really become after they have served decades in prison? What does it take for a killer to be accepted back into society? What is the chance that he will kill again?

Award-winning journalist Nancy Mullane found herself facing these questions when she accepted an assignment to report on the exploding costs of incarceration. But the men she met behind the walls astonished her with their remorse, introspection, determination, and unshakable hope for freedom and forgiveness.

Life After Murder is an intimately reported, utterly compelling story of five convicted murderers sentenced to life with the possibility of parole, who discover after decades in prison that their second chance, if it comes at all, is also the challenge of a lifetime. It follows their struggle for redemption, their legal battles to make good on the state's promise of parole, and the lives they found after so many years inside.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781610390293
Publisher: PublicAffairs
Publication date: 06/26/2012
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 748,467
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Nancy Mullane is Executive Producer of the national podcast, Life of the Law, and develops, reports, and produces feature stories for Public Radio International's This American Life, National Public Radio, and the NPR affiliate KALW News-Crosscurrents in San Francisco. She is a member of the Society for Professional Journalists, the Association of Independents in Radio, and the International Women's Media Foundation. In 2009, she was awarded a Soros Justice Media Fellowship, and in 2011, Nancy was the recipient of a National Edward R. Murrow Award. In 2013 her book, Life After Murder was honored with the National Council on Crime and Delinquency's Media for a Just Society Book Award.

Table of Contents

Author's Note ix

1 Face To Face 1

2 Results 9

3 Time And Space 21

4 Worlds Apart 37

5 Richie's Story The Good Son 41

6 Eddie's Story Midnight Run To Hell 69

7 Blind Date 101

8 150 Days 113

9 Don's Story Seconds 129

10 Reversals 139

11 Jesse's Story Hair Trigger 153

12 Beautiful 169

13 Phillip's Story Crazy Hot Day 181

14 Sidewalks 199

15 Shifting Fortunes 205

16 One Screw-Up 231

17 Nimnh (Not In My Neighborhood) 251

18 Bittersweet 257

19 Money 285

20 Disneyland 317

21 Digging Deep 321

Epilogue Thanksgiving 337

Acknowledgments 347

A Note on Sources 353

Index 355

Customer Reviews