Life Can Begin Again: Sermons on the Sermon on the Mount

Life Can Begin Again: Sermons on the Sermon on the Mount


$28.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Life Can Begin Again: Sermons on the Sermon on the Mount by Helmut Thielicke

Christians have always turned to the Sermon on the Mount for inspiration. In Life Can Begin Again, Helmut Thielicke, himself one of the great preachers of the twentieth century, comes to grips with what is often seen as a collection of lovely but impossible ideals. Thielicke makes it clear that the Sermon on the Mount can never be understood if, even for a moment, we forget the person of the Preacher of the Sermon. For without the person and work of Jesus Christ the marvellous words of the Beatitudes and the injunctions that follow them are the most radical and devastating distillation of God’s claims that can be conceived – they leave us in utter hopeless dismay. Only through Christ can these words of the law become the glorious Gospel that promises a new life. Once again, as in his other best-selling works How the World Began and The Prayer that Spans the World, Thielicke brings profoundly biblical religion alive for modern readers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781592443895
Publisher: Wipf & Stock Publishers
Publication date: 10/01/2003
Pages: 232
Product dimensions: (w) x 8.50(h) x (d)

About the Author

Helmut Thielicke first came to prominence as a German Lutheran minister during the last days of the Second World War in Stuttgart. In the face of bombing raids and Nazi opposition, Thielicke carried on preaching to a congregation of thousands. After the war was over, he joined the faculty of the University of Tübingen as Rector and Professor of Systematic Theology, later becoming the Rector of the University of Hamburg. During this time, he also became a world traveller, lecturing and preaching in the United States, South Africa, Australia and Latin America. He died in Hamburg in 1986.

Table of Contents

Translator's Note

1. Journey Without Luggage
2. The First Installment of Happiness
3. The Salt, Not the Honey of the World
4. The Costs of Grace
5. Every Word an Oath
6. No Retaliation!
7. Does Faith Pay Dividends?
8. Talking About God or With God?
9. Homecoming
10. Overcoming Anxiety
11. The Judge Accused
12. An Elementary Course in Faith
13. Venturing the Harder Road
14. Time's Up!
15. The Foundation of Life

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews