Life Changes

Life Changes

by Thomas RhettThomas Rhett


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Life Changes is nothing if it's not a literal title. This third album from Thomas Rhett arrives on the heels of 2015's Tangled Up, the album that confirmed his country stardom, an event significant enough to warrant such an album name, but the singer experienced positive personal upheaval too. Just months after adopting an 18-month-old baby, Rhett's wife became pregnant, so the singer became a father twice over in the wake of Tangled Up, an experience he chronicles in the concluding verse of the album's title track. It's a sentimental tale, so it's not surprising he gets a little sticky when he recites autobiographical particulars, but his willingness to open up the entirety of his heart signals how Rhett is a modern man, and Life Changes stands as a testament to that fact. He's a loyal loverman, continuing to seduce his longtime partner years after they fell for each other; he's a smooth talker with a penchant for over-sharing, a tendency that makes him an ideal country-pop star for the age of social media. Life Changes is littered with references to the modern world -- blue check marks on an Instagram, burned CDs, mango green tea, and Coldplay songs -- but, more impressively, the music engages with contemporary pop trends, going far beyond the R&B inclinations of Tangled Up. Notably, Rhett leans hard into dance music, pushing skittering EDM drops on "Leave Right Now" and coating his Maren Morris disco duet "Craving You" with a sleek electronic gloss. Such sly adventure is appealing -- particularly because it's balanced by a good dose of country-soul and such straight-ahead country as "Drink a Little Beer," a duet with his father, Rhett Akins -- but Life Changes isn't just flash; it's grounded by its 14 well-constructed songs. Sometimes that craft is in the service of nothing more than slick radio pop, but the breezy "Smooth Like the Summer" and simmering "Gateway Love" retain their charms after multiple plays due to their sculpted melodies and Rhett's light touch, a quality that helps sell such life lessons as "Sixteen," a song of experience that serves as the counterpoint to the mawkish "Life Changes." But even that title track is expertly assembled, sailing along on a lilting groove and drum loop, evidence that Rhett is as savvy a musician as he is a pop star.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/08/2017
Label: Valory
UPC: 0843930032327
catalogNumber: 0300
Rank: 5264

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thomas Rhett   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Robert Bailey   Background Vocals
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Skip Edwards   Steel Guitar
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Dann Huff   Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Wendy Moten   Background Vocals
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Rhett Akins   Background Vocals
David Lee Murphy   Background Vocals
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Joe London   Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Derek Wells   Electric Guitar
Jason Eskridge   Background Vocals
Tom Peyton   Trombone
Julian Bunetta   Drums,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Dave Barnes   Background Vocals
Jessi Alexander   Background Vocals
Chris Kimmerer   Drums
Matt Dragstrem   Background Vocals
Danny Rader   Acoustic Guitar
Charlie Judge   Synthesizer,Strings,Keyboards
Nate Mercereau   French Horn
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar
Ben Caver   Background Vocals
Jordan Reynolds   Background Vocals
Sam Ellis   Keyboards
Emily Weisband   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Joe Baldridge   Engineer
Dann Huff   Producer
Rhett Akins   Composer
David Lee Murphy   Composer
Russell Terrell   Engineer
Joe London   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Josh Miller   Composer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Chris DeStefano   Composer
Julian Bunetta   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dave Barnes   Composer
Jessi Alexander   Composer
Becky Reiser   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Matt Dragstrem   Composer,Programming
Jesse Frasure   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Seth Morton   Engineer
Josh Osborne   Composer
Joe Spargur   Composer
Ed Drewett   Composer
John Ryan   Programming
Jordan Reynolds   Composer
Thomas Rhett   Composer,Producer
Sam Ellis   Programming
John Henry Ryan   Composer
Sean Douglas   Composer

Customer Reviews