Pub. Date:
Life of Moscheles: With Selections from his Diaries and Correspondence

Life of Moscheles: With Selections from his Diaries and Correspondence

by Charlotte Moscheles


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


Born in Prague, pianist and composer Ignaz Moscheles (1794-1870) studied in Vienna and rapidly became a central figure in European musical life. He lived and worked in London for twenty-five years, leaving in 1846 to become principal professor of piano at the Leipzig Conservatoire at the invitation of his great friend Mendelssohn. As a pianist, he was renowned for his incisive technique rooted in the tradition of Clementi, and also much admired for his extempore performances. As a composer his output was mainly for the piano, and his studies are still in use today. First published in 1872-3, this lively biography, compiled from his diaries and letters by his wife Charlotte, records his dealings with and feelings about many great musicians of the nineteenth century. Reissued here is the 1873 English translation by Arthur Duke Coleridge, founder of the Bach Choir. Volume 2 covers 1836 to 1870, and includes a list of works.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781108077873
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 10/11/2014
Series: Cambridge Library Collection - Music Series
Edition description: Reissue
Pages: 338
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.75(d)

Table of Contents

1. Letters from members of the Mendelssohn family; 2. Recitals for pianoforte music; 3. Historical concerts; 4. Ferdinand David; 5. Letter to a friend; 6. The Philharmonic Society; 7. The Bunsen family; 8. Operatic arrangements; 9. New year in Austria and England; 10. Dresden; 11. Leipzig negotiations; 12. Life and society in Leipzig; 13. Commemorations of Mendelssohn; 14. Moscheles and his pupils; 15. Madame Sontag; 16. The new Erard; 17. Madame Lind-Goldschmidt; 18. Centenary of Mozart's birth; 19. Ovation to Concertmeister David; A complete catalogue of compositions by Moscheles; Index of names.

Customer Reviews