Life Will See You Now

Life Will See You Now

by Jens LekmanJens Lekman


$15.55 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14


After the release of his 2012 album, I Know What Love Isn't, Jens Lekman went out on tour and quickly realized that his fans hadn't really warmed up to the sad and subdued nature of the new songs. This realization sent Lekman into a bit of a tailspin that led to him questioning the nature of his songs and the character of "Jens" that he had created. He kept working and almost finished an album in 2014, but set it aside when it became clear that it wasn't quite right. Then in 2015 he launched two projects: Postcards, which consisted of Lekman writing and releasing a new song every week; and Ghostwriting, where he would put stories sent to him into lyrics and write music to go with them. The work that went into these undertakings inspired Lekman to rededicate himself to making another album. He teamed up with producer Ewan Pearson, whom he had met while doing guest vocals on a Tracey Thorn album, and started work on a new album. Life Will See You Now swings back from the subtle, more intimate nature of I Know What Love Isn't in favor of a bright and sunny-sounding album that's full of happy samples, disco beats, and cheerful melodies. As for the songs themselves, Lekman has taken a big step away from writing about "himself," and the record is a series of vignettes about other people or conversations he's had with people about life, with all the humor and insight, odd observations, and catchy choruses his songs have always had.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/17/2017
Label: Secretly Canadian
UPC: 0656605033921
catalogNumber: 50339
Rank: 108953


  1. To Know Your Mission
  2. Evening Prayer
  3. Hotwire the Ferris Wheel
  4. What's That Perfume That You Wear?
  5. Our First Fight
  6. Wedding in Finistère
  7. How We Met, The Long Version
  8. How Can I Tell Him
  9. Postcard #17
  10. Dandelion Seed

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jens Lekman   Primary Artist,Piano,Hand Clapping
Ralph MacDonald   Sampling
Tracey Thorn   Vocals
Ewan Pearson   Hand Clapping,solina
Ellen Hjalmarsson   Strings
Jackie Stoudemire   Sampling
Kristin Lidell   Trumpet
Josa Gerhard   Strings
Anna Eichholz   Strings
Jonas Odhner   Horn Engineer
Loulou Lamotte   Vocals,Background Vocals
Emelie Jonazon   Saxophone
Madelene Birgenius   Piano
Paul B. Keeves   Bass
Nicolai Ziel   Percussion,Drums
Dominik Petzold   Piano
Alice Dixon   Strings
Alex De Little   Trombone

Technical Credits

Tracey Thorn   Composer
Ewan Pearson   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Guy Sternberg   Engineer
Jens Lekman   Composer,Producer
Nathaniel David Utesch   Layout
Klara Wiksten   Drawing
Malin Nordström   Composer

Customer Reviews