Listen to the Sound

Listen to the Sound

by Building 429


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Listen to the Sound

Listen to the Sound feels like an arrival for Christian rockers Building 429, ironically the result of spending more time on the road and less in the studio. Coming almost three years since their self-titled magnum opus, the band's fifth album finds them more confident than ever in proclaiming their witness and writing memorable mainstream rock. Where the band worked hard to carve out its identity on previous releases, Jason Roy and company sound more than ever like they're having fun this time around. And that leads to a centrist brand of post-grunge that recalls the heyday of Lifehouse, Matchbox Twenty, and Tonic. They may take fewer risks overall, but the album is greater than the sum of the parts. From the shout-along chorus of opener "Made for You" to the cool alternative groove of "One Foot," this is Building 429 at its most accessible. "Right Beside You" features a duet with Fireflight lead singer Dawn Michele that makes you wonder why she and Roy haven't teamed up for an entire side project together. There's enough intrigue on the fist-pumping title track and "You Save Me" to last through other moments that aren't quite as striking, but the album has more than its share of radio hits. It also improves with age; repeated listens reveal the beauty of some of the softer moments like "Love Has Been Spoken" and "Where I Belong." Fans and new listeners alike will enjoy this blend of rock and Christian themes.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/10/2011
Label: Essential
UPC: 0083061093228
catalogNumber: 10932

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Building 429   Primary Artist
Mark Stephens   Vocals
Chris Carmichael   Strings
Jason Eskridge   Background Vocals
Blaine Barcus   Vocals
Nina Williams   Vocals
Jim Wilcox   Vocals
Michael Anderson   Drums,Group Member
Dana Austin   Vocals
Jason Roy   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Amanda Shannon   Vocals
Ametria Dock   Background Vocals
Dawn Michele   Vocals
Jennifer Harper   Vocals
David Jordan   Vocals
Natasha Williams   Background Vocals
Jesse Garcia   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Group Member
Anne Nicole Royster   Vocals
AJ Strout   Vocals
AJ Gilmer   Vocals
Aaron Branch   Bass,Group Member
Christy Rowland   Vocals
Chelsi Miller   Vocals
Charles Van Dyke   Vocals
Camaryn Rogers   Vocals
Benjamin Brinton   Vocals
Ashley Goins   Vocals
Gioia Varenkamp   Vocals
Dustin York   Vocals
DJ Lipscomb   Vocals
Cooper Boyle   Vocals
Kristin Watson   Vocals
Jay Yarbrough   Vocals
Jay Wilkinson   Vocals
Heather Bro Moroschak   Vocals
Luellyn Wilcox   Vocals
Richard Davis   Cello
Tracey Williams   Vocals
Tony McBroom   Vocals
Scottie Harper   Vocals

Technical Credits

Chris Carmichael   String Arrangements
Scott Krippayne   Composer
Beth Lee   Art Direction
Ben Phillips   Engineer
Tim Parker   Art Direction
Jason Ingram   Composer,Programming,Producer
Rusty Varenkamp   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Tony Wood   Composer
Jason Roy   Composer
Rob Hawkins   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Michelle Box   Producer
Jason Walker   Composer
Kristopher Whipple   grooming
Caleb Grimm   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Listen to the Sound 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great music and amazing lyrics as well. Only one word WOW!