Little House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient Life

Little House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient Life

by Merissa A. Alink

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

From the immensely popular blogger behind Little House Living comes a motivational homemaking book, inspired by Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie, featuring creative, fun ways to live your life simply and frugally—perfect for fans of Ree Drummond’s The Pioneer Woman.

Shortly after getting married, Merissa Alink and her husband found themselves with nothing in their pantry but a package of spaghetti and some breadcrumbs. Their life had hit rock bottom, and it was only after a touching act of charity that they were able to get on their feet again.

Inspired by this gesture of kindness as well as the beloved Little House on the Prairie books, Merissa found that a life of self-sufficiency and simplicity could be charming and blissful. She set out to live an entirely made-from-scratch life, the “Little House” way, and as a result, she slashed her household budget by nearly half—saving thousands of dollars a year. She started to write about homesteading, homemaking, and cooking from scratch, and over the next few years developed the recipes and DIY projects that would one day become part of her now beloved website, LittleHouseLiving.com.

As whole foods became staples of the family diet, Merissa realized the dangers of putting overly processed ingredients not only into our bodies, but on or near them as well. In addition to countless delicious, home-cooked meals, she developed natural, easy-to-make recipes for everything from sunscreen to taco seasoning mix, lemon poppy hand scrub to furniture polish. With their simple ingredients, these recipes are allergen friendly and many are gluten-free.

With over 130 practical, simple DIY recipes, gorgeous full-color photographs, and Merissa’s trademark charm in personal stories and tips, Little House Living is the epitome of heartland warmth and prairie inspiration.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501104299
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 10/20/2015
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 752,288
File size: 57 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Merissa A. Alink fully believes in her mission statement of “making the most with what you have” and commits each day to taking the best possible care of her family. Since 2009, she’s been writing her blog, Little House Living, and sharing tips about simple living with from-scratch recipes, make-your-own tutorials, and much more. Merissa loves living a quiet life with her family of four on a little 125-year-old farm that they are renovating in rural South Dakota. Visit her at LittleHouseLiving.com.

Read an Excerpt

baby lotion
• • •
 
There’s nothing quite like feeling your new baby’s soft skin. It makes you a little bit jealous, doesn’t it? Unfortunately, once babies and little ones are introduced to the world, their skin can get dry, flaky, and irritated, just like yours.
Usually when we notice dry skin, we simply rub a little extra-virgin coconut oil into their skin right away to repair it and get it moisturized quickly. However, if the skin is very dry or there are several patches of dry skin, this lotion is very helpful to have on hand. It’s very smooth and ultrahydrating and will heal up your little one’s dry skin in no time. We generally do not add any essential oils to this recipe, since we use it on babies and because I love the pure, natural scent of babies and wouldn’t want a lotion to overpower it! Before long that little one is going to smell like dirt, sweat, and maybe even dog drool, so enjoy it while you can!
 
WHAT YOU NEED
1/2 cup mango butter
1/4 cup coconut oil (extra-virgin if possible)
1 tablespoon vitamin E oil
1/4 cup avocado oil
 
In a saucepan on medium heat, melt the mango butter and coconut oil together. Pour the mixture into a bowl and add the vitamin E oil and the avocado oil. Beat with an electric hand mixer for a few minutes until smooth and creamy. Place in a jar or container and use when needed. The mixture will harden up slightly as it cools.
 
Money-Saving Tip: Babies don’t need the fanciest and best new baby items on the market. Stick with a crib, blankets, clothing, and bottles to fulfill their basic needs. The regular stroller will get them around in the exact same way as a $500 stroller. And babies go through clothing so fast, if you have too much for them you won’t even get to see it all before they move on to the next size!

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Little House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient Life 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great book filled with every way to make your own household beauty, food mixes, pesticides (organic of course) etc. It was well put together and I enjoyed Marissa ' s take on life and the story of how they got going in the little farm house they bought and remodeled. I have used some of the recipes for body scrubs, lotions and things like bean soup and taco seasoning to save some money. I especially loved the Oatmeal Cookie body scrub. Lots of simple ways to make your life a little more self sufficient. Great Job, Marissa! Hope there is another book in the works soon!