Live at Red Rocks

Live at Red Rocks

by John Butler Trio

CD(Bonus DVD)

$13.51 $15.99 Save 16% Current price is $13.51, Original price is $15.99. You Save 16%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Live at Red Rocks

The John Butler Trio may be smaller than most jam bands, but they sure know how to make a racket. The guys get a little help from their friends on this concert album -- Danielle Caruana trades harmonies with her husband, Mr. Butler himself, on "Losing You," and a Native American dancing troupe joins the group on several songs -- but most of Live at Red Rocks focuses on the trio itself, highlighting John Butler's guitar work and showcasing the multi-instrumental talents of bandmates Byron Luiters and Nicky Bomba, both of whom were still relatively new at the time of the album's recording. Playing live brings out the crunchy side in Butler's music, which loses some of the mainstream-skirting elements from April Uprising and gets back to the jam band appeal that first launched his career. He sings about revolution, about respecting your mother, about smoking marijuana, and he does so with a sort of skittish, imperfect voice that's solid enough to carry these melodies but doesn't take away from his guitar skills, which are the bread and butter of this three-disc set. You don't hear the crowd much, even on the quieter numbers, but you definitely see them on the DVD. They look like they're having fun. If you're a Butler fan, you probably will too.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/19/2011
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882175122
catalogNumber: 217512


Disc 1

  1. Introduction
  2. Used To Get High
  3. I'd Do Anything
  4. Betterman
  5. Don't Wanna See Your Face
  6. Revolution
  7. Hoe Down
  8. Better Than
  9. Johnny's Gone
  10. Take Me
  11. Treat Yo Mama
  12. Losing You
  13. Intro To Ocean
  14. Ocean

Disc 2

  1. Ragged Mile
  2. Zebra
  3. Good Excuse
  4. C'mon Now
  5. Close To You
  6. Peaches & Cream
  7. One Way Road
  8. Funky Tonight

Disc 3

  1. Used to Get High
  2. I'd Do Anything
  3. Betterman
  4. Don't Wanna See Your Face
  5. Revolution
  6. Hoe Down
  7. Better Than
  8. Johnny's Gone
  9. Take Me
  10. Treat Yo Mama
  11. Losing You
  12. Ocean
  13. Ragged Mile
  14. Zebra
  15. Good Excuse
  16. C'mon Now
  17. Close to You
  18. Peaches & Cream
  19. One Way Road
  20. Funky Tonight
  21. [Bonus Materials]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews