Live At Stockholm Concert Hall

Live At Stockholm Concert Hall

by Ane Brun

CD(Dutch Import)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Live At Stockholm Concert Hall

The purpose of Live at Stockholm Concert Hall may be questioned -- Brun's music is too sparse and balanced for her to offer something dramatically different from her regular records during a show (read: no ten-minute jams here), but the live setting also strips away much of the studio polish, making the album not exactly representative of her work. But it's still close, and besides, the release does a good job of showcasing the emotions Brun builds her music on, and if those emotions are rawer here than elsewhere, so much the better. Live at Stockholm Concert Hall is low-key affair centered around Brun's voice, which is an acquired taste: she may seem grating in her angrier moments, but she has a presence and can actually sing sweet melodies when she feels like it. The songs lead off with an acoustic guitar or, in some cases, piano, but violin, accordion, and percussion also make appearances, though they stay firmly in the background; it's possible not to realize that there's something else going on besides Brun's vocals and melodies, and in fact, there are plenty of arrangements to flesh out the music. The tunes themselves are similarly deceptive, being quiet and relaxed on the surface, sometimes folky, sometimes (less frequently) country, but either way packing plenty of tension into them, a trick best illustrated by her cover of Alphaville's "Big in Japan," which is given the same acoustic treatment here and turns into a somber and disquieting ballad. The stripped-down compositions start to blend together after a while, and at over an hour, Live at Stockholm Concert Hall is less impressive as a record than a concert experience, but it can still serve as a decent introduction to Ane Brun's in place of a best-of collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2009
Label: Det Er Mine Sweden
UPC: 7320470116906
catalogNumber: 7011690


Disc 1

  1. The Puzzle
  2. Humming One Of Your Songs
  3. To Let Myself Go
  4. My Star
  5. The Treehouse Song
  6. Lullaby For Grown-Ups
  7. Linger With Pleasure
  8. Lift Me
  9. Sleeping By The Fyris River
  10. Balloon Ranger
  11. Ten Seconds
  12. The Fall
  13. Big In Japan
  14. My Lover Will Go
  15. Song No 6
  16. True Colors
  17. My Baby's Arms

Disc 2

  1. Intro: Are They Saying Goodbye
  2. Raise My Head
  3. The Puzzle
  4. Humming One of Your Songs
  5. To Let Myself Go
  6. This Voice
  7. My Star
  8. The Treehouse Song
  9. Lullaby For Grown-Ups
  10. Changing Of The Seasons
  11. Linger With Pleasure
  12. Lift Me
  13. Sleeping By The Fyris River
  14. Balloon Ranger
  15. Ten Seconds
  16. Armour
  17. Petrified Forest Road
  18. Falling Down
  19. The Fall
  20. Rubber And Soul
  21. Don't Leave
  22. Big In Japan
  23. My Lover Will Go
  24. Song No. 6
  25. True Colors

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews