Live at the BBC

Live at the BBC

by Joe Jackson


$17.06 $19.99 Save 15% Current price is $17.06, Original price is $19.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, August 29 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Live at the BBC

Universal's 2009 At the BBC double-disc set rounds up radio sessions recorded between 1979 and 1983 -- the peak years of the Joe Jackson Band, a period bookended by his Look Sharp! debut and his most popular album, Night and Day. The two discs are set up so they open with an earlier show and then close with a later one: the first has a Peel Session from 1979, then an 11-song set at the Hammersmith Odeon from 1982, while the second disc has a ten-song show from the Hatfield Polytechnic in 1980 and seven songs from Hitchin's Regal Theatre in 1983. This gives each disc a similar feel, with each opening up with a tight, nervy, exhilarating set that gives way to a more sophisticated set. Naturally, sophisticated is a bit of a relative term -- Jackson had yet to fully delve into his jazz obsessions but they were certainly flowering via Night and Day, and that can be heard on the 1982 and 1983 sets, in the songs from Night and Day and in how "Is She Really Going Out with Him?" is given an a cappella, doo wop arrangement. Even then, what impresses throughout At the BBC is the unbridled, palpable energy. This is vigorous, exciting music, better proof of the band's greatness as a live act than the quite good Live 1980/86 collection and one of the better punk
ew wave live sets available.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2009
Label: Ume Imports
UPC: 0600753112953
catalogNumber: 5311295
Rank: 193868


Disc 1

  1. One More Time
  2. Got the Time
  3. Fools in Love
  4. I'm the Man
  5. Look Sharp!
  6. Cancer
  7. Real Men
  8. Breaking Us in Two
  9. Fools in Love
  10. Chinatown
  11. Target
  12. T.V. Age
  13. It's Different for Girls
  14. Tuxedo Junction
  15. Steppin' Out
  16. Sunday Papers
  17. One More Time
  18. Friday
  19. It's Different For Girls [Rock Goes To College: Joe Jackson (2) 14/01/1
  20. Don't Wanna Be Like That [Rock Goes To College: Joe Jackson (2) 14/01/1
  21. Happy Loving Couples
  22. I'm the Man
  23. Got the Time
  24. Is She Really Going Out With Him? [Rock Goes To College: Joe Jackson (2
  25. Come On
  26. On Your Radio
  27. Another World
  28. Sunday Papers
  29. 2look Sharp!
  30. Is She Really Going Out With Him? [Sight and Sound In Concert: Joe Jack
  31. Steppin' Out
  32. A Slow Song

Disc 2

  1. Sunday Papers
  2. One More Time
  3. Friday
  4. It's Different for Girls
  5. Don't Wanna Be Like That
  6. Happy Loving Couples
  7. I'm the Man
  8. Got the Time
  9. Is She Really Going out with Him?
  10. Come On
  11. On Your Radio
  12. Another World
  13. Sunday Papers
  14. Look Sharp!
  15. Is She Really Going out with Him?
  16. Steppin' Out
  17. A Slow Song

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews