Live Bait (Monkeewrench Series #2)

Live Bait (Monkeewrench Series #2)

by P. J. Tracy
4.5 25

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Live Bait (Monkeewrench Series #2) by P. J. Tracy

Minneapolis detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth are bored - ever since they solved the Monkeewrench case, the Twin Cities have been in a murder-free dry spell, as people no longer seem interested in killing one another. But with two brutal homicides taking place in one awful night, the crime drought ends - not with a trickle, but with an eventual torrent. Who would kill Morey Gilbert, a man without an enemy, a man who might as well have been a saint? His tiny, cranky little wife, Lily, is no help, and may even be a suspect; his estranged son, Jack, an infamous ambulance-chasing lawyer, has his own enemies; and his son-in-law, former cop Marty Pullman, is so depressed over his wife's death a year ago that he's ready to kill himself, but not Morey. The number of victims - all elderly - grows, and the city is fearful once again." The detectives' investigation threatens to uncover a series of horrendous secrets, some buried within the heart of the police department itself, blurring the lines between heroes and villains. Grace MacBride's cold-case-solving software may find the missing link - but at a terrible price.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101642573
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/05/2005
Series: Monkeewrench Series , #2
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 48,250
File size: 422 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

P.J. Tracy is the pseudonym of mother-daughter writing duo P.J. and Traci Lambrecht, winners of the Anthony, Barry, Gumshoe, and Minnesota Book Awards. Their first four novels, Monkeewrench, Live Bait, Dead Run, and Snow Blind have become national and international bestsellers.

P.J. Lambrecht is a college dropout with one of the largest collections of sweatpants in the world. She was raised in an upper-middle class family of very nice people, and turned to writing to escape the hardships of such a life. She had her first short story published in The Saturday Evening Post when Traci was eight, still mercifully oblivious to her mother’s plans to eventually trick her into joining the family business. She has been a moderately successfully free-lance writer ever since, although she has absolutely no qualifications for such a profession, except a penchant for lying.

Traci Lambrecht spent most of her childhood riding and showing horses. She graduated with a Russian Studies major from St. Olaf College in Northfield Minnesota, where she also studied voice. Her aspirations of becoming a spy were dashed when the Cold War ended, so she instead attempted briefly and unsuccessfully to import Eastern European folk art. She began writing to finance her annoying habits of travel and singing in rock bands, and much to her mother’s relief, finally realized that the written word was her true calling. They have been writing together ever since.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Live Bait 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
SuseNJ More than 1 year ago
Nice, good book with the colorful characters, lots of suspense at very end, not as suspenseful throughout as Monkeewrench. A little too light for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series!
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
An unusual plot revolves around the cold-blooded murder of a number of Jewish senior citizens in the Minneapolis area. It turns out the connecting thread is they all survived the Nazis' concentration camps in World War II. But the city police detectives, aided by the Monkeewrench team (not as evident here as in the first book of the series) soon learn that these elderly survivors had another secret connection - a deadly one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a great way to spend a hot afternoon - reading a thriller like Live Bait. Highly recommend it. Was sorry that it ended. Can't wait to get Dead Run!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Monkeewrench was great, Live Bait is much better. Hope this writing team keeps delivering winners!
Guest More than 1 year ago
what a great read..as an avid mystery reader I can usually pick out the murderer before the end..Not this time..great read, lot's of fun trying to work it out. Too bad these ladies don't have a web site to tell them directly how great their books are.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait for the mother/daughter team to write another book! I am hooked after reading Live Bait. MonkeeWrench was good, but Live Bait is even better. The characters are great, they work off each other and keep the plot going. The twists and turns up to the end, I just couldn't put it down. Keep up the 'great' work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't compare Live Bait With the first book Monkeewrench.Both books were excellent,different plots.I hope this writing team has a long and successful career.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as great as 1st book, but good read. Twists AR the end
Refill More than 1 year ago
After a series intro dealing with a group of game developers that is entertaining and has a decent amount of tension, what can author P.J. Tracy (pseudonym of a mother and daughter duo) follow it up with? A so-so mystery that removes much of the techno aspects and pushes those game developer characters into the background. Instead this is a novel that focuses on other characters we met previously, mainly Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth who spend the novel trying to determine who and why someone is murdering the elderly. The mystery in and of itself is intriguing enough and develops into some interesting shades of gray and morality questions, but it is hurt by more than its fair share of repetitive dialogue. Who murdered these seniors? Why murder these seniors? Who murdered these seniors? Why murder these seniors? Who murdered these seniors? Why murder these seniors? Yes, we know, this is a murder mystery, but maybe we should follow Elvis Presley's advice and have a little less conversation and a lot more action. Eventually the novel comes around to become an entertaining read, but it takes its time and fills the gaps with pointless dialogue that is nowhere near as funny as the authors think it is (Chapter 15 could have been removed altogether.) Also being 99% sure who the killer is doesn't help. This is where Tracy earns their money as they fooled me. Right up until the reveal of the killer which comes out of nowhere. Alright, P.J. Tracy, you got me, and I enjoyed finding out I was wrong. A somewhat disappointing follow-up to "Monkeewrench", sticking with this novel proves to be worth it and actually turns out to have a more satisfying conclusion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good books, fast reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have now read the first 3 books in the Monkeewrench series and enjoyed them all, will continue to read the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a terrific read. All of the characters are engaging. Some you love and some you despise but you stay engaged in the story. The authors definitely keep you wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book for a great summer read. Monkeewrench was good but this is even better. I will add this author to my favorites.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As improbable as it sounds, there have been no homicides in Minneapolis for months and the detectives that work on homicides are reduced to working on cold cases. The terrific dry spell breaks in a horrific way when eighty five year old Morey Gilbert, a victim of the concentration camp, is killed outside his home. Homicide detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth (of MONKEEWRENCH fame) are assigned the case but they have little to go on because the victim¿s wife messed up the crime scene..................................... In the same neighborhood Mr. Fischer¿s living room is a sea of blood but there is no body. It is later discovered that the corpse is tied up at the railroad trucks but Fischer has a heart attack before the train could hit him. At first the two homicide detectives believe there is no link between the two killings but learns much later that there is. In the meantime, two more eighty-something victims, a man and a woman both living in Morey¿s neighborhood, are murdered and the only thing they have in common is that they are survivors of the camps................................. P.J. Tracy is an expect at writings crime thrillers with so many unexpected twists and turns in the storyline that readers find themselves totally absorbed in the book and will want to read it one sitting. The works of this mother-daughter writing team will be enjoyed by readers who like Patricia Cornwell, Christine McGuire, and Nancy Taylor Rosenberg. The action scenes are very realistic as is the plot but the characters take LIVE BAIT out of the ordinary into the sublime......................... Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
Zany and likeable detectives, Gino Rolseth and Leo Magozzi are called in to investigate the deaths of three elderly people. With the prospect of yet more murders, these apparently sensless killings are causing a state of near panic in the Twin Cities, Minneapolis. A possible link as the to motive of these deaths, is discovered. Each of the three victims had at one time, been a prisoner in a Nazi concentration camp. As in the first novel, Monkeewrench, this mother-daughter partnership, writing under the pseudonym P.J. Tracy re-creates all the original pace, vitality and sharp dialogue that made the first novel such a success. So that once again, in LIVE BAIT, the narrative keeps flowing, the pages keep turning. As the layers of the plot begin to unfold, the quality of the characters begin to make an impression. Gino and Leo could well feature in a novel of their own as well as the gun-toting and computer wizard, Grace MacBride. We witness former cop Marty Pullman, whose only solace since the death of his wife months earlier, is in a bottle of Jack Daniels, begin to realise that there is a glimmer of hope and that he might be getting better. All these identities are woven deftly into the fabric of the story, especially in the case of Grace who, intriguingly, remains a lady of mystery. LIVE BAIT then is a well plotted, intelligent read. But as the climax of the story approaches it could well be that there are more fundamentlal thoughts behind this story. The question of retribution, however justified it may seem, is never the complete resolution to any situation. And that the term hero can be earned in a most unlikey way.