by Delbert McClinton
4.0 1


$20.85 $21.99 Save 5% Current price is $20.85, Original price is $21.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, October 24 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



Recorded for Norwegian radio on a night when he and his band were exploding with funk, blues, and rock, Delbert McClinton's first live album both explains his recent acclaim and begs the question of why it took so long for everyone to appreciate what he's been laying down for the last three decades. Live borrows from the past on a fiercely smoking rendition of McClinton's 1980 R&B classic, "Giving It Up for Your Love," and "B-Movie Boxcar Blues," energized by an extended blues jam that features Delbert wailing and moaning on his harp like nobody's business. The set also takes a firm stand in the present with the grooving, horn-fired southern funk of "Leap of Faith" and lays on the heartbreak in two beautiful, blues-based tear-jerkers, "Don't Want to Love You" and a wrenching cover of Otis Redding's "I've Got Dreams to Remember." That's the template for a memorable night, although the emphasis is clearly on the up-tempo killers. Already wise to his most recent studio gems, the Grammy-winning Nothing Personal and 2002's powerhouse Room to Breathe, McClinton fans will find much to chew on in the soul stews of "I Wanna Thank You Baby," "New York City," and "A Fine and Healthy Thing," among others. Until his next round of new material surfaces, Live is one steamroller of a career overview.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2003
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396604821
catalogNumber: 6048
Rank: 12958


Disc 1

  1. Old Weakness (Comin' on Strong)
  2. Leap of Faith
  3. I'm With You
  4. I Wanna Thank You Baby
  5. I Want to Love You
  6. Smooth Talk
  7. Maybe Someday Baby
  8. Don't Want to Love You
  9. New York City
  10. Squeeze Me In
  11. I've Got Dreams to Remember

Disc 2

  1. Why Me?
  2. Rebecca, Rebecca
  3. Going Back to Louisiana
  4. When Rita Leaves
  5. Livin' It Down
  6. Giving It Up for Your Love
  7. B-Movie Boxcar Blues
  8. Little Fine Healthy Thing

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Live 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a terrific introduction to Delbert McClinton’s Texas honky-tonk R&B (heavy on the ‘B’), a musical brew that comes to life in concert. Not only does the double-disc set survey the length of McClinton’s career, but the singer and his band are thoroughly in the groove, and the appreciative Norwegian Bergen Blues Festival audience spurs them to great heights. Originally broadcast on radio, a post-show review made it clear that the engineers had captured the punch of a live concert on tape, and that the confluence of a great night for the singer, songs, band and recording would make for a very special release. ¶ The song list includes several staples from McClinton’s live set, including his own “B Movie Boxcar Blues” (popularly known from the Blues Brothers 1978 cover), his first chart success, 1980’s “Giving It Up For Your Love,” and a moving rendition of Otis Redding’s “I’ve Got Dreams to Remember.” While five of this album’s tracks were included on McClinton’s 1989 concert release, “Live From Austin,” they’re concert staples for a good reason: each is meaty enough to stand up to reinterpretation, night-after-night and year-after-year. ¶ Even better, the chestnuts find new context in a set that includes recent material like the Mexicali flavored “When Rita Leaves” and horn-charged “Livin’ It Down” from 2001’s “Nothing Personal” LP, and “Smooth Talk” and “New York City” from 2002’s “Room to Breathe.” The set is fleshed out with well-selected blues covers such as Big Joe Turner’s steamy “Rebecca, Rebecca” Billy Emerson’s sassy “Little Fine Healthy Thing,” and Glen Clark’s optimistic “Leap of Faith.” When McClinton steps outside the standard blues repertoire, for the Country-originated “Old Weakness (Comin’ On Strong),” or the Bo Diddley beat of Mickey Jupp’s “I’m With You,” the band spices things with zesty horn charts and rollicking piano and guitar. ¶ While this can’t substitute for actually hearing McClinton live, it gives the uninitiated a good taste of what they’ve been missing.