Live Evil

Live Evil

by Black Sabbath Black Sabbath


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


Black Sabbath's first attempt at an official live album, 1982's Live Evil was also the straw that broke the camel's back -- or rather, split the legendary group's second lineup right down the middle. Band tensions were already at an all-time high leading into the album's mixing sessions, but when founding members Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler accused singer Ronnie James Dio of sneaking into the studio to raise the volume on his vocal tracks, the pint-sized warbler decided he'd had enough and, guilty or not, departed to pursue a solo career, taking drummer Vinny Appice with him. Fateful accusations aside, Live Evil does benefit from a crystal clear, in-your-face sound, and by showcasing even amounts of both Ozzy and Dio material, effectively documents Black Sabbath's renascent tours of the early '80s. Ronnie certainly has the vocal chops, if not the same everyman charm, to handle the Osbourne classics, but his incessant banter between (and during!) songs sometimes verges on the unbearable. And even though the album's only truly transcendent moments may be the vicious introductory pairing of "E5150"/"Neon Knights" and the extended "Heaven and Hell"/"Sign of the Southern Cross" suite, there's also nothing really amiss with solid interpretations of such all-time metal classics as "Children of the Sea," "Black Sabbath," "War Pigs," and "Children of the Grave" either. And considering the as yet unknown travails awaiting Black Sabbath in the post-Dio era, Live Evil's troubled gestation has come to seem positively idyllic in retrospect.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/2010
Label: Sanctuary Uk
UPC: 0602527339290
catalogNumber: 2733929
Rank: 24394


Disc 1

  1. E5150
  2. Neon Knights
  3. N.I.B.
  4. Children Of The Sea
  5. Voodoo
  6. Black Sabbath
  7. War Pigs
  8. Iron Man

Disc 2

  1. The Mob Rules
  2. Heaven And Hell
  3. The Sign Of The Southern Cross/Heaven And Hell
  4. Paranoid
  5. Children Of The Grave
  6. Fluff

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Black Sabbath   Primary Artist
Vinny Appice   Drums
Geezer Butler   Bass Guitar
Ronnie James Dio   Vocals
Tony Iommi   Guitar
Geoff Nicholls   Keyboards
Michael Howse   Bass
Bill Russell   Drums
Peter Restey   Keyboards
Ian Ferguson   Guitar

Technical Credits

Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Angelo Arcuri   Sound Crew
Geezer Butler   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Lee DeCarlo   Engineer
Ronnie James Dio   Arranger,Composer
Bill Freesh   Engineer
Steve Griffiths   Sound Crew
Mark Henderson   Transportation
Tony Iommi   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Bill Ward   Composer
Hugh Gilmour   Art Direction
Jay Vigon   Art Direction
Gary Marks   Sound Crew
Paul Clark   Concept,Tour Manager
Bill Huddler   Transportation
Pat Calhoon   Transportation
Nick Cua   Tour Accountant
Jeff Wezzerner   Transportation
Harry Netti   Sound Crew
Tim Gross   Transportation
Steve Zelenka   Monitor Mixer
Steffan Chitazi   Liner Notes
Stan Wells   Illustrations

Customer Reviews