Live From the Archives of 650AM WSM, Vol. 1

Live From the Archives of 650AM WSM, Vol. 1


$7.59 $14.99 Save 49% Current price is $7.59, Original price is $14.99. You Save 49%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Nashville's clear channel AM radio station WSM first signed on in 1925 and began airing a weekly Saturday night country show featuring live performances called the WSM Barn Dance, which morphed into the Grand Ole Opry, the longest-running radio program in the history of the medium. Often, musicians who were visiting the Opry would stop by WSM for short, intimate, and mostly acoustic live on-air sets. This collection is the first time any of those archival performances have been officially released, and since this is listed as Vol. 1, obviously more of them will be coming out in the future. The album is bookended by excerpts from Ralph Emery's National Radio Hall of Fame induction. Emery was WSM's overnight on-air host from the late '50s through the early '70s, and his connection to WSM, the Opry, and Nashville's country scene made him an influential figure in the birth of modern country. The album itself has an intimate feel, highlighted by Del McCoury's "Hello Lonely," the Time Jumpers' bluegrass version of Buck Owens' "Together Again," and the Grascals, who deliver a bluegrass take on the Monkees' "Last Train to Clarksville." Rodney Crowell's solo acoustic version of his wonderful song "Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight" is appropriately ragged and haunting, while J.D. Souther gives "New Kid in Town," a song he co-wrote, the kind of elegant fragility that is mostly lacking in the Eagles' hit version of it. It all adds up to a fun and varied set, and hopefully there will be many more volumes like this one coming from the WSM vaults.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2013
Label: Red River Entertaint
UPC: 0819376054926
catalogNumber: 49
Rank: 118914

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vince Gill   Spoken Word

Technical Credits

Rodney Crowell   Composer
Buck Owens   Composer
Tammy Wynette   Composer
Don Henley   Composer
Robert Byrne   Composer
Tommy Boyce   Composer
Shawn Camp   Composer
Glenn Frey   Composer
Vince Gill   Composer
Bobby Hart   Composer
Jim Krueger   Composer
Mac McAnally   Composer
Darrell Scott   Composer
Billy Sherrill   Composer
John Scott Sherrill   Composer
J.D. Souther   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Jessica White   Layout
David Lee   Composer
Elizabeth Cook   Composer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Charles Dubois   Composer
Gordon Sampson   Composer
Donovan Cowart   Composer
Montie Tarr   Composer
Joe Limardi   Executive Producer
Eric Marcum   Engineer

Customer Reviews