Live in America

Live in America

by Victor WootenVictor Wooten


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Victor Wooten's fourth solo record is a double-disc package documenting four years on the road with brothers Reggie Wooten (guitar and vocals) and Joseph Wooten (keyboards and vocals), as well as JD Blair (drums and vocals). The Wooten band serves up full-throttle funk, R&B, and pop power ballads, as well as feel-good fusion, often with a dash of hip-hop courtesy of rapper (and guest bassist) MC Divinity. The leader's widely celebrated bass virtuosity is on display throughout, but most explicitly during "Hey Girl," "Tappin' and Thumpin'," "Sacred Silence/The Jam Man," "Me and My Bass Guitar," and "Pretty Little Lady." Disc one begins with a studio-recorded introduction from P-Funk bass legend Bootsy Collins, disc two with a bass duel featuring fusion veteran Marcus Miller. Tributes to other musical heroes (Sly Stone, James Brown, and Jaco Pastorius) crop up during the course of the album's 118 combined minutes. While there's much to be said for their tightness and musicianship, Wooten and company can get bogged down in overly long jams, and some of their live schtick doesn't translate so well on record.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2001
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397432328
catalogNumber: 974323
Rank: 61744

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Victor Wooten   Primary Artist,Electric Bass,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Bootsy Collins   Electric Bass,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Marcus Miller   Electric Bass,Bass Guitar
D. Walker   Rap
Joe Wooten   Keyboards,Theremin,Vocals
Tony Byrd   Drums
J.D. Blair   Drums,Vocals
Sweet Lipps   Background Vocals
Michael Kott   Vocals
Regi Wooten   Electric Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Bootsy Collins   Engineer
Kurt Storey   Engineer
Joe Wooten   Composer
Victor Wooten   Songwriter,Arranger
J.D. Blair   Songwriter
Zach Newton   Engineer
Regi Wooten   Arranger

Customer Reviews