Pub. Date:
Live in London [SPV]

Live in London [SPV]

by Amon Düül IIAmon Düül II


$20.50 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.5, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


A curious release in the Amon Düül II catalog -- originally it appeared only in Britain, and then as an astonishingly cheap budget release -- Live in London is, unsurprisingly, exactly what it says it is. Recorded near the end of 1972, it features the full-band lineup performing songs mostly from Yeti and Tanz der Lemminge for a quite enthusiastic crowd (if prog rock bands performed for a bunch of stoned hippies, one would never know that from the cheers throughout). The group pours on the energy in turn; while they aren't simply playing at full blast throughout, the song selection and inspired performances are the mark of a band able to cut it just as well live as in the studio. Whether it was a conscious decision on the band's part to focus mostly on the rockers as opposed to the drifters is up for grabs, but it works; even the spacier numbers, like the aptly titled "Improvisations," consisting mostly of buried feedback and burbling keyboard intrusions, still have a good power to them. The heavy groove of "Eye Shaking King" is one standout to note; it's such a great take that swaying and gentle headbanging seem like the only natural things to do, while Karrer's fiery mid-song guitar solo is one of his best performances. Two lengthy Tanz tracks, "Syntelman's" and "Restless Skylight," appear in abbreviated forms, gaining in a more direct performance what they lose in length, while Knaup and Meid share vocals throughout to further reshape the songs for the live venue, a nice and successful change from the album cuts. Closing on a fine medley of "Riding on a Cloud" and "Paralyzed Paradise," with some more excellent mind-f*ck guitar on the latter (only a couple of minutes' worth, but just enough), Live in London is worth scrounging around for.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2007
Label: Imports
UPC: 0693723053622
catalogNumber: 3053622
Rank: 81671


  1. Archangels Thunderbird
  2. Eye Shaking King
  3. Soap Shop Rock
  4. Improvisation
  5. Syntelman's March of the Roaring Seventies: Pull Down Your Mask/Prayer
  6. Restless Skylight--Transistor--Child: Landing in a Ditch/Dehypnotiz
  7. Race from Here to Your Ears: Little Tornados/Riding on a Cloud/Paralyze

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Amon Düül   Primary Artist
Chris Karrer   Guitar,Violin,Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Vocals
Lothar Meid   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Renate Knaup-Kroetenschwanz   Vocals
Peter Leopold   Drums
Falk U. Rogner   Organ,Synthesizer,Bass
D. Secundus   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
John Weinzierl   Guitar,Vocals
Danny Secundus Fichelscher   Drums

Technical Credits

Chris Karrer   Composer
Jürgen Koppers   Remixing
Peter Kramper   Remixing
Olaf Kubler   Producer,Audio Production
Sigfried Loch   Composer
Vic Maile   Engineer
Falk U. Rogner   Composer
John Weinzierl   Composer
Danny Secundus Fichelscher   Composer
Don McKay   Liner Notes
Jürgen Koeppers   Remixing
Amon Düül   Composer,Producer,Audio Production

Customer Reviews