Live in Vienna

Live in Vienna

by Lang Lang



Recorded and filmed in the famed Musikverein, Lang Lang Live in Vienna presents one of today's hottest classical artists in a classic setting. The program features the star pianist's first-ever recording of Beethoven sonatas -- the "Appassionata," a milestone in the piano literature, paired with the composer's youthful C Major Sonata Op. 2, No. 3. Virtuosity of a different order is displayed in Albéniz's impressionistic memories of his native Spain in Book One of Iberia.

The program closes with one of Prokofiev's explosive War Sonatas, the revolutionary Seventh Sonata. Finally, to celebrate the Chopin bicentennial, we hear three encores of the Polish genius's most popular works: the "Aeolian Harp" Etude, the "Heroic" Polonaise in A-flat Major, and the sparkling Grande Valse Brillante No. 2.

One of 2010's most eagerly awaited classical releases, the recording is available in an array of formats: on CD, in a Deluxe CD+DVD Edition, on Vinyl LP, and on DVD and Blu-ray. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 08/24/2010
Label: Sony Classics
UPC: 0886977190124
catalogNumber: 771901


Disc 1

  1. Piano Sonata No. 3 in C major, Op. 2/3

    1. 1. Allegro con brio  (10:52)
    2. 2. Adagio  (08:58)
    3. 3. Scherzo (Allegro)  (03:09)
    4. 4. Allegro assai  (05:52)
  2. Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor ("Appassionata"), Op. 57

    1. 1. Allegro assai  (10:49)
    2. 2. Andante con moto  (07:18)
    3. 3. Allegro ma non troppo  (08:25)

Disc 2

  1. Iberia Suite for piano, B. 47, Book 1

    1. 1. Évocacion  (06:37)
    2. 2. El Puerto  (04:52)
    3. 3. Fête-Dieu à Séville  (09:27)
  2. Piano Sonata No. 7 in B flat major ("War Sonata 2/Stalingrad"), Op. 83

    1. 1. Allegro inquieto - Andantino  (09:24)
    2. 2. Andantino caloroso  (06:30)
    3. 3. Precipitato  (04:37)
  3. Etude for piano No. 13 in A flat major, Op. 25/1, CT. 26  (04:24)
  4. Polonaise for piano No. 6 in A flat major ("Héroique"), Op. 53, CT. 155  (07:21)
  5. Waltz for piano No. 2 in A flat major, Op. 34/1, CT. 208  (05:54)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Live in Vienna 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well played. I was suprised at how well Lang Lang played in the classical style especially. Excellent Beethoven, Albeniz, and Prokofiev. Prokofiev sonata was the highlight of theis disc. Chopin however, was a little bit poorly played.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago